Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2010, 06:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 48
Default 4 dimmsG.Skill Trident Frequency Problem

Previously i had 4gb with 2 DIMMs and the ram able to clock at its advertised speed of 2133mhz, but i put another set of the ram in and it refuse to register 8gb of ram unless i put the frequency to 1300. I'm using the Asus P7P55D premium mother board. Any advice is appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2010, 08:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

using more banks takes a toll on the motherboard, but it shouldn't be so much as clocking down to 1300.. trying bumping up voltages a little more. can you not get 1600 or anything? just 1300?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2010, 12:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

is it the same exact ram(same chips) ? look at the timings.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 12:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks for the reply. I actually figured out what is wrong. When you have 4 DIMM it takes a toll on the memory controller. I left the voltage on the RAM to 1.65 but upp the IMC voltage to 1.3 (although intel says 1.21 is the max) and now it runs at 2.2ghz without a problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill's trident LacrosseTown RAM 5 May 29, 2010 10:59 AM
G.Skill Trident 6GB PC3-16000 CL9 Tri Channel Memory Kit Review MAC RAM 17 February 22, 2010 03:21 PM
Help adjusting NB frequency?? aviduser Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 March 21, 2009 06:17 AM
g.skill 64gb ssd raid0 problem Phobia Troubleshooting 0 January 16, 2009 06:55 PM