Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 05:42 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default quick question about i7 920

i am very new to overcloaking and havnt really tried it before except on an old P3.
I want to OC my rig, just for fun, so i got it so its running at just under 3.4 gHz and the ram is at its rated speed of 1600mHz.
im running Prime95 right now and the temp is around 80C
Is this to hot? If not what is?
If it is, is there a trick to reducing it?

All i did was increase the bus speed to 160

Any help would be appreciated. Thanx

(it idles around 40C)
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus

Last edited by Bubbzilla; September 20, 2010 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 05:52 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

80c and under is fine in my opinion. stay 20c away from tjmax and you are ok
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 06:11 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default



based on this, can anyone give me any advice to lower temps/increase speed?
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 06:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

i'm pretty sure you can be stable with a lot less vcore than this @ 3.3
you say you didnd't touch it, probably on auto, and auto is know to use more volta than needed
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:21 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,585

My System Specs

Default

you should be able to hit 3.3 on less then stock volts, but I'm concerned about your temps.

Do you have the stock cooler on, or aftermarket cooling? Your sig says you have an Ultra 120, if this is correct, the temps still seem fairly high for a U120.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 454

My System Specs

Default

80c is way too high for 3.3GHz, unless you have poor cooling.
It should be in the 75c range for 3.8-4.0 GHz.
If you have a i7 920 D0, your vcore should be about 1.25v, your ram volt should not be greater than 1.65v.
If you put things in auto, check your ram voltage since anything over 1.65v will eventually hurt your cpu.

Take a look at this thread. It has a lot of discussions and sample settings.
i7 920 + GA-EX58-UD3R = ???

Also take a look at a thread by the name of ..."I have a D0" for more examples.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Be careful about that thread, and the settings. Somecanadianguy had a 920 C0 and the OP is running a D0.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:10 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Running stock cooler or after market?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:15 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default

im using the U120
it was pretty dusty. cleaned it up, dropped a bit
79, 76, 76, 73 is max
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:20 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

How long did you run prime 95 for, intel burn test is actually a better/more accurate way to stress overclocks these days shy of big work unit folding.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A quick question LacrosseTown Troubleshooting 5 June 13, 2010 04:44 AM
Quick question jspot69 HTPC Systems & Software 4 February 6, 2009 06:39 AM
Quick Question /b/ derrXIII Video Cards 2 August 12, 2008 03:55 PM
quick question... omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 July 22, 2008 06:31 PM
Quick Question. Khronos Display Units 2 January 7, 2008 02:16 PM