Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
check your ram voltage since anything over 1.65v will eventually hurt your cpu.
where this comes from?
lots of people including me have been running 1.70+ 24/7 for a long time and never had issue

not that you should do it, but it won't magically kill a 1366 cpu
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:26 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 178
Default

changed vcore to 1.25

is sitting around 62 now at full load
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:27 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
How long did you run prime 95 for, intel burn test is actually a better/more accurate way to stress overclocks these days shy of big work unit folding.

IBT is the way to go, Prime 95 is outdated for stress testing IMO. I am 100% confident in IBT to get the job done. Not to mention it is way faster. 40 passes at 8 threads, maximum RAM usage usually takes about 2 hours to run through, and your CPU will crap out well before 10 runs (3 min a run or there abouts) if its not stable. This has yet to let me down on stability. I follow up the 40 passes with Folding@Home. Has worked for 3 CPU's now.

But first and foremost, lets worry about your temps. Drop your voltage, try 1.28 first at 3.6(ish) and see what your temps are at. You may need a better cooler.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:34 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 987

My System Specs

Default

From my experience most i7 920 D0s can hit about 3.6 GHz on stock voltages (helps if your motherboard has a "Normal" voltage setting).
Try turning Turbo Boost off, as it may enable 22 multiplier when only one core is active. It can throw off four-core loaded stress test results.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:37 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkultra View Post
where this comes from?
lots of people including me have been running 1.70+ 24/7 for a long time and never had issue

not that you should do it, but it won't magically kill a 1366 cpu
Ram is rated for 1.65V typically, beyond that you are over-volting them causing them to run hotter and shortening their life span
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:48 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 178
Default

have it at 1.275 V and 3.6gHz running between 65 and 70C

what should V be at 4.0gHz ?
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:01 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Have you not been listening to us, you need to run it for several hours to double check that it is stable and that your temps don't go too high. You're vcore could very well be 1.4 and drive your cpu over 80C and still not be stable or could run i at 1.35 with no temp problems yet stability issues.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 09:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 407

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkultra View Post
where this comes from?
lots of people including me have been running 1.70+ 24/7 for a long time and never had issue

not that you should do it, but it won't magically kill a 1366 cpu
I have seen threads here and in other forums that the cpu gradually could not hold the oc originally set at (4.0GHz), and eventually can only run at 3.2GHz or less. I don't quite remember the details, IIRC the high vdimm seems to affect the cache of the cpu. It is not a scientific proof, but I would not risk my $300 cpu.
Also the thread that I quoted is indeed for C0, but it generally applies, only that you can set vcore of D0 lower than C0.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 01:39 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I have seen threads here and in other forums that the cpu gradually could not hold the oc originally set at (4.0GHz), and eventually can only run at 3.2GHz or less. I don't quite remember the details, IIRC the high vdimm seems to affect the cache of the cpu. It is not a scientific proof, but I would not risk my $300 cpu.
Also the thread that I quoted is indeed for C0, but it generally applies, only that you can set vcore of D0 lower than C0.
idk, i wouldn't be worried about that myself, but i guess i'm more of a power user than some. I've used 1.74v on my Corsair GT since i had my w3520 in the meantime i've had a w3540 and now a 980x and i'm still running 1.74 with no degradadation still running 4.5ghz @ 1.375 on the 980x for months.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Ram is rated for 1.65V typically, beyond that you are over-volting them causing them to run hotter and shortening their life span
lol i know that....overclocking is always a gamble but the guy was talking about killing a CPU with more than normal VDIMM not the RAM itself.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A quick question LacrosseTown Troubleshooting 5 June 13, 2010 03:44 AM
Quick question jspot69 HTPC Systems & Software 4 February 6, 2009 05:39 AM
Quick Question /b/ derrXIII Video Cards 2 August 12, 2008 02:55 PM
quick question... omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 July 22, 2008 05:31 PM
Quick Question. Khronos Display Units 2 January 7, 2008 01:16 PM