Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 11:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

check the kingston website for your particular ram model for how high the voltage should be. I'm guessing 1.7 - 1.8 volts though
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 08:11 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

If you run your CPU at stock your ram CAN run under 2000 since the speed of the memory controller is not near 2000. Your memory will run at one of the multiplier ( 1066, 1333,1600 1866 )If you want your memory running at 2000 stable you will need to OC your CPU...A LOT OF OC!! probably near 4.5Ghz :P. This is a really common issue with high speed memory not running at full speed. Sometime board will allow to run at full speed but mainly it will not be 100% stable. For exemple, my I7 860 with 1600 Mhz, my memory run at 1333. when I OC my CPU to 4.0Ghz my memory run at 1592 or something like that.

Finally, don't worry this issue is totally normal. it's only a design limitation and the fact that the memory is way faster than the CPU.

Ask if you need more info on it;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 06:10 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 629

My System Specs

Default

I have some HyperX DDR2 that is rated at 800, but I've never been able to get it to run at 800 despite voltages and even tried another motherboard. Won't ever buy that ram again....
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 07:35 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
If you run your CPU at stock your ram CAN run under 2000 since the speed of the memory controller is not near 2000. Your memory will run at one of the multiplier ( 1066, 1333,1600 1866 )If you want your memory running at 2000 stable you will need to OC your CPU...A LOT OF OC!! probably near 4.5Ghz :P.
This is 100% false...you do not need to overclock the CPU to 4.5GHz in order to get memory to run at DDR3-2000.

You will need to overclock the Base Clock (BCLK). If you run the 2:12 ratio you will need a BCLK of 167, or on the 2:14 (1866 ratio) if it will run, a BCLK of 143. In either instance, you can simply reduce the CPU multiplier to compensate for the BCLK raise. But there is no reason that you HAVE to run your CPU at 4.5GHz to get memory running at 1000MHz (DDR3-2000).

The key with high memory clocks is going to be the Internal Memory Controller(IMC) of your CPU. Some IMC's simply can't run DDR3-2000...I've seen it. You will need to adjust VTT (QPI/DRAM Core VOltage on that board) in order to run high memory clocks. If you have to run over 1.45v for VTT, then it simply isn't worth it to run DDR3-2000 for a daily machine in my opinion.

I wish I could offer more direct advice as to how to clock memory on that board, but I am not familiar with the board so I couldn't be certain about BIOS selections.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 08:29 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
This is 100% false...you do not need to overclock the CPU to 4.5GHz in order to get memory to run at DDR3-2000.
I think you misread me or I have been a bit unclear.
I totally agree with what you said but if Manual setting are not working to make the memory run at 2000Mhz THEN you will have to push the CPU frequency to run the memory faster. Same issue with my G.skill 2000Mhz, can't get it to run near 2000( not because I care ) unless I OC the CPU. Sometime it just don't work...
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] new retail p67A-ud7 b3 +some ddr3 zsamz_ Buy/Sell & Trade 30 November 26, 2011 08:14 PM
Kingston HyperX Labs - Water Cooled RAM Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 1, 2010 11:28 AM
GSkill PI Black vs. Kingston HyperX clone63 RAM 3 April 7, 2009 01:06 PM
Kingston HyperX chibi_man RAM 8 January 29, 2008 02:26 PM
Tech Gage reviews: Kingston 2GB HyperX PC2-9200 Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 March 11, 2007 07:35 PM