Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 11:58 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default OC Voltage for Q6600 G0

i'm now running the CPU at 3500MHz at 1.425 V. in bios;
Everest says CPU Core runs at 1.36 V.

I've read somewhere that this CPU, when run at around 1.45 Volts max, is ok for long term longevity.
If that is so, could i set the voltage core at 1.45 volts, or is that voltage to be used only for input volt. (in the bios) ?

Edited for ease of understanding... :-S
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.

Last edited by Gellidius; September 17, 2010 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 10:22 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 596

My System Specs

Default

More then vcore I would say that your load temps are what mostly determine longevity. I have a q6600 G0 at 3.6Ghz at 1.51v for years. I use a TRUE with push pull fans in a Antec 900 so cooling is pretty good. Point is that keeping the cpu as cool as possible will help it to last its longest. Heck, for quite a while I ran this cpu at 3.8Ghz with 1.625v under water cooling!

Does that make sense to you?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 05:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,630

My System Specs

Default

I've been running a G0 above 1.5V Vcore for 3+ years (24/7 folding) and it's still going strong (knock on wood.... ;) ). I've been shooting for sub 65c load temps.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 05:43 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

From what both of you say, i understand that i should not worry much about using voltages around 1.5 Volts; during the summer i run the CPU at 3400 with core temps that never go above 52 C.
For a few days now, with cooler room temps, i run at 3500 and core temps are the same as above, with voltage set at 1.425

i guess i can now say "What, me worry" (for those who remember Mad magazine in the 50s-60s)
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 07:07 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

1.5 for all 65nm chips is how i have always done it. water means a little higher but not much
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with ram voltage sempifer RAM 4 September 2, 2010 09:23 PM
how much more nb voltage. kyle_L Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 24, 2009 06:31 PM
i7 voltage question gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 March 9, 2009 11:04 AM
Voltage advice. encorp Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 November 20, 2008 10:49 PM
Over Voltage a35599 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 February 26, 2008 09:21 PM