Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 05:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

All 400 series cards have built-in HDMI audio passthrough as far as I know. The 2-pin SPDIF header hasn't been required since the GTX 200 series.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 05:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,013

My System Specs

Default

Argh. Real tempted to try GTX460 SLI. Is micro-stuttering still an issue? People seem to debate about it still.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 06:41 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

I have 470 SLi and honestly I have never seen micro stutter although I have heard about it a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 06:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
All 400 series cards have built-in HDMI audio passthrough as far as I know. The 2-pin SPDIF header hasn't been required since the GTX 200 series.
That's what I'm trying to get at though.... how are they doing it if it's not being done by the spdif header... do they now have an audio chip onboard (like ATI has had from day one of HDMI), or are they somehow processing the audio on either the CPU or the GPU?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 06:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

or just a sound card pass through via the bus?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 06:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's what I'm trying to get at though.... how are they doing it if it's not being done by the spdif header... do they now have an audio chip onboard (like ATI has had from day one of HDMI), or are they somehow processing the audio on either the CPU or the GPU?
I believe ATI handles it on the GPU, and I think nVidia does it the same way.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 07:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I believe ATI handles it on the GPU, and I think nVidia does it the same way.
Nope... ATI has an actual audio chip on the video card itself for that duty.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 07:51 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Custom clean install appears to have worked fine for me, W7 64bit and GTX470.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 09:23 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

Dumb question here but why does Nvidia make mention of the performance increases for 460 and 480 cards and not 470? I realize they can't list all of their cards but can't I assume that 470's will also see improvement? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2010, 10:12 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Dumb question here but why does Nvidia make mention of the performance increases for 460 and 480 cards and not 470? I realize they can't list all of their cards but can't I assume that 470's will also see improvement? Thanks
Because the 470 is really a cut down 480, I think you'd see similar percentage improvements as advertised by Nvidia.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce Forceware 260.52 leaked Closed Note Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 September 11, 2010 07:31 PM
NVIDIA GeForce Forceware 196.21 WHQL Drivers Released FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 18 January 22, 2010 06:54 PM
NVIDIA GeForce Forceware 190.38 WHQL Drivers fefox O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 August 2, 2009 03:26 PM
Forceware 190.40 - beta MittWaffle O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 28, 2009 12:10 PM
Forceware 177.39 leaked beta driver da_bradler O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 June 24, 2008 11:18 PM