Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2010, 05:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,054

My System Specs

Default

Try enabling triple buffering: Triple Buffering: Why We Love It - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2010, 11:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the posts guys, this is great. i'll try the triple buffering.
yeah i had to laugh at the comment about the i5's&i7's being outdated soon.
I remember when all I had was a 2.8ghz(overclocked) pentium 4(478) with an ati hd2600pro agp in like 2007/2008 and i went to the local computer store where a guy just custom built/bought a qx6800 with sli 8800 ultra's in an antec 900 for 4000$ and I was drooling uncontrollably.
NOW that is even outdated compared to mine. whenever something new comes out I always think back to that moment and laugh. hehe
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2010, 11:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

oh! i must make a correction I didn't get the 2600pro agp until i moved to saskatchewan in 2008 my graphics card in 2007 was an overclocked 9250 agp when I lived in ontario :D lol
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 01:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

pics of my new case and guts tucked neatly inside it.
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 12:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

Hello everyone.
I've been running prime 95 on my overclocks to find the most stable voltages.
last night i ran 4.0ghz @1.38volts for over seven hours so i quit the test, now im running 4.2ghz @ 1.42volts.
@4ghz the cpu was 60c and fine then i opened my bay windows to let in some autumn like cold air and the temps dropped to 52c now that i picked it up to 4.2ghz at a higher voltage the cpu is running at 60c again lol i think if i shut the window and it warms up in here this cpu won't last lol its still running prime 95 flawlessly mind you...60c.

what voltage would be bad for my qx9650?? anyone think this baby can go higher?? anyone dare me??
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 12:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Your temperatures can go up to 100C without a problem. As for voltage, you should try to keep it below 1.4V.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 07:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

yeah... it won't budge past 4.2 hehe i tried a few settings unless it requires a huge spike in voltage for a minor jump in performance its not worth it.
but its running rock solid at 4.2ghz at 1.42vcore temps seem average and prime 95 didnt skip a beat.
someitmes from a cold startup tho the overclock doesnt work; asks me to go to by bios and change settings i just exit and restart and everythings fine.
i must say anything lower than 1.42vcore and the cpu fails prime 95 also 1.42 is what shows on my desktop it's 1.437 in my bios...

another question, is it normal for the cpu's cores to complete prme 95 tests at different rates?? not all of my cores post at the same time when theyre done a test and start the next one. i'm asking because i was watching NCIX put a i7 980x on prime 95 and they all completed tasks at the same time...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 09:15 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

You don't really "finish" P95, but the iterations will normally finish at slightly different intervals. This is random, since all the cores are getting their data off the same bus, so from time to time different cores will happen to get their data slightly quicker.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2010, 06:58 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

The voltage in your bios, is what you should consider your true voltage - not what a windows program reports.
I ran a Q9550 @4.1Ghz on 1.4v (custom watercooled PC) - I wouldn't run a Q9xxx system past 1.4v, because I run folding@home 24/7 on my boxes.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2010, 03:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

i understand, i needed this one incremenet higher to make it stable. 1.43 made me stable otherwise i would have problems and i'm not having problems cooling on air :) 35c. @4.2ghz

although i am in the process of drawing up plans to mod my case for a triple rad on the ceiling...
but that's a different topic that'll come up when i'm done.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
5870 , cpu , overclock , qx 9650 , ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QX9650 zoob CPU's and Motherboards 11 September 8, 2010 02:45 PM
4870x2 and QX9650 Mark HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 May 2, 2009 06:39 AM
Motherboard for a QX9650 CanadaRox CPU's and Motherboards 10 February 2, 2009 06:55 PM
[FS] qx9650 kruzn4evr Buy/Sell & Trade 24 December 30, 2008 06:40 AM
[FS] A pair of QX9650's Dead Things Buy/Sell & Trade 44 December 16, 2008 07:58 AM