Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2010, 09:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO/RH/Markham
Posts: 244

My System Specs

Default

^^^ x2 yeah, when i had problems oc'ing my system (similiar to yours DrJohnFever), it was because of the RAM settings, so make sure you downclock them AND have the timings correct AND have the memory voltage correct.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 11:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
Default

OK everyone, thanks. I will try this later when I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 09:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO/RH/Markham
Posts: 244

My System Specs

Default

^^^ wow, it's been a while since a reply. I hope u didn't fry ur system, yikes!

Anyway, if u're back and reading this, again, make sure you your ram ratio is okay. Cuz what jcmaz said, when you OC your FSB, your RAM also get's OC. For example, if your FSB is 200MHz and ram ratio right now is 1:3.33 (200MHz * 3.33 / 1 * 2 = 1333Mhz = speed of your ram @ stock), and then you bump up your FSB to 233 while leaving the ram ratio at 1:3.33, then your ram is OC'd (233MHz * 3.33 / 1 * 2 = 1551Mhz!!! = speed of your ram after bumping up FSB).

you will need to tone-down the ram ratio, to maybe 3:8 if FSB is at 250MHz (i.e. 250MHz * 8 / 3 * 2 = 1333MHz). 250MHz * 14.5 = 3.6GHz. A respectable 700+ OC.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 08:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: california,US
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

i hit a wall at 3.54ghz @1.5v ,I think i could go farther but i'm not sure if it would be safe to go past 1.5v
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 12:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

on air, stay there.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 04:31 PM
[FS] HTPC - AMD 64x2 2.6 ghz quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 15, 2009 08:37 PM
[FS] AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.2 GHz, $40 kazyn Buy/Sell & Trade 15 May 6, 2009 02:25 AM
AMD delays Phenom 2.4 GHz due to TLB errata 1Tanker Rumor Mill 8 November 19, 2007 05:59 AM