Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 12:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Problems Overclocking with Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L

When I try to OC my mobo, it reboots and just defaults back to original settings in the BIOS. This board is driving me crazy. I went out and bought a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme and it sits in the box mocking me because I can't OC. Dark times, my friends. Any help is appreciated. What kind of M.I.T. settings are you people using to OC if you have this board? I'm using F6 BIOS, but I see F7 is out now.

Thanks,
Rick
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2.67 GHz
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Patriot 2 x 1 GB DDR2 PDC22G6400LLK dual channel
ATI X1950 PRO 256 MB DDR3
Enermax FMA II EG465P-VE 460W
Creative Audigy 2 Value
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 12:37 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DukeNukem View Post
When I try to OC my mobo, it reboots and just defaults back to original settings in the BIOS. This board is driving me crazy. I went out and bought a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme and it sits in the box mocking me because I can't OC. Dark times, my friends. Any help is appreciated. What kind of M.I.T. settings are you people using to OC if you have this board? I'm using F6 BIOS, but I see F7 is out now.

Thanks,
Rick
I have the identical system to yours, except for ram, I have only tried out the CIA auto overclock so far, just for fun, it got up to 3.26ghz and 980 on the RAM with no issues whatsoever...

orthos for 4 hours stable.

it is kinda finicky when I was playing with ram though...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 12:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DukeNukem View Post
When I try to OC my mobo, it reboots and just defaults back to original settings in the BIOS. This board is driving me crazy. I went out and bought a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme and it sits in the box mocking me because I can't OC. Dark times, my friends. Any help is appreciated. What kind of M.I.T. settings are you people using to OC if you have this board? I'm using F6 BIOS, but I see F7 is out now.

Thanks,
Rick
What oc are you trying to reach exactly and what are your settings? I have that board and actually it was the easiest oc I have ever done. See sig.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 04:13 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Although I don't have this particular board, I remember that there is a particularity about how to save your settings. If you miss that step, the board will reset to default.

I thinks it's something about rebooting and pressing an F key to testify that the settings are what you want them to be.

Sorry to be clear as mud,
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 05:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I'm just trying to get a 3.2 GHz OC. FSB is 400. If anyone is OCing with this board and has C2D 6x50 CPU, please share your BIOS settings so I can try and make some headway here. Thanks.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2.67 GHz
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Patriot 2 x 1 GB DDR2 PDC22G6400LLK dual channel
ATI X1950 PRO 256 MB DDR3
Enermax FMA II EG465P-VE 460W
Creative Audigy 2 Value
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 06:16 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

FSB 400 is feasible with the board, providing the proper amount of volts. What is the highest stable oc you managed? And what were the settings? We'll start from that.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 08:25 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

FSB 400 may not require a bump in voltage, with a 6750 it is running at 333 anyways...



__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2007, 04:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Here are my bios shots. I'm using the DS3L with an E6750..

ImageShack - Hosting :: e6750biosshot2yj4.jpg

ImageShack - Hosting :: e6750biosshot1ed0.jpg

Here is the inside of my case.. nothing fancy .. just neat and tidy :)
Antec P182 case.. Trupower 650 psu.. lots of 120mm fans (6 total) wiring routed behind the motherboard (mostly)
ImageShack - Hosting :: img2332jr2.jpg

CPU Cooler (Thermaltake Duorb)
ImageShack - Hosting :: img2330pm1.jpg

And my Overclock results from stock up to my end result (nothing crazy) but a nice jump 4670 stock to 5891 oc'd Video card is an XFX 7900 GS (600 core / 900 memory)
ImageShack - Hosting :: 3dmark2006ocresultscompcz4.jpg

Last edited by Mocard; December 13, 2007 at 07:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2007, 04:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,469

My System Specs

Default

If my experience with the DQ6 is any indication, the first place I'd be looking is the memory. Make sure you've got the "divider" set as low as possible before trying any OC of the CPU. Mem OC can come after you've found the max of your CPU.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Northbridge? Evilyeti CPU's and Motherboards 9 April 26, 2008 02:11 AM
Problems with Overclocking my e8400 Tumdace Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 66 March 12, 2008 01:44 AM
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L and G.Skill RAM Supertrash CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 21, 2008 01:40 PM
Reviewer Tryouts: Gigabyte DS3L & Intel C2D E4400 Zertz Member Reviews 17 January 23, 2008 08:27 PM
Problems Overclocking. Dethredic Video Cards 6 November 3, 2007 07:06 AM