Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 03:44 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default Help with Fans and cpu

Hey all, just put together a new build, its been a while. i7 930, ASUS P6X58D-E mobo.

I have two 120mm fans chained together going into one of the headers on the mobo. Is there any way I can adjust the fan speeds without using a hardware fan controller? anything I can download to control the fans? HWinfo shows the speeds and everything, but i can't change anything.

Also, how come my CPU keeps downclocking when I have the power settings on high performance? runs at 1.6Ghz when its not doing much, even when im playing SC2, its not going above 1.6-1.7 Ghz, whats going on? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 08:46 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Whats up with my CPU? - A SpeedStep F.A.Q.
It is called speedstep for intel
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 08:46 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,592

My System Specs

Default

Speedstep is occuring, more details available in this thread: Whats up with my CPU? - A SpeedStep F.A.Q.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 08:58 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info, what program should I use to put a full load on the cpu? so I can test to see if it is infact speedstep?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 09:03 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homer98 View Post
Thanks for the info, what program should I use to put a full load on the cpu? so I can test to see if it is infact speedstep?
OCCT Website english
OCCT will work fine, trust me it is speedstep.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 09:08 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

ok, thanks. Im not doubting you, I just want to see it in action and im sure OCCT is useful for testing overclocking as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 02:04 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,
I'm not sure why SpeedStep is an issue here as in standby/shut down the whole computer is turned off and only standby current is provided from the powersupply. I would have the thought the powersupply compatibility warning is due to the way the CPU with SpeedStep enabled quickly causes extra power to be drawn when required and some powersupplies may not be able to react quick enough, I would have thought that all branded new powersupplies are just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 08:49 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRwebSEO View Post
Hi,
I'm not sure why SpeedStep is an issue here as in standby/shut down the whole computer is turned off and only standby current is provided from the powersupply. I would have the thought the powersupply compatibility warning is due to the way the CPU with SpeedStep enabled quickly causes extra power to be drawn when required and some powersupplies may not be able to react quick enough, I would have thought that all branded new powersupplies are just fine.
Your post makes absolutely no sense and has nothing to do with the issue at hand.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for laptop cpu fans? Unknownm Air Cooling 7 October 4, 2009 12:37 PM
how many fans can I run off of motherboard cpu fan plugin Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 5, 2009 01:17 PM
[FS] Bunch of stuff (Fans,Video cards, CPU, Heatsink) ddude27 Buy/Sell & Trade 20 May 13, 2009 07:02 PM
How often do I have to replace CPU Heatsink, and Fans? appplejack Air Cooling 8 February 12, 2009 11:48 AM
Tutorial: Repair your noisy cpu, system and video card fans nork Guides & How-to's 11 March 16, 2008 10:03 AM