Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:43 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default 980x temps, voltage, stability, RAM

Hi guys, I'm currently running a core i7 980x OC'd to 3.9GHz. Yesterday, I was rendering for the better part of the day with no stability problems, but after I stopped rendering to play some L4D2, I suddenly got a BSoD. Upon reboot, I bumped up my VCore to 1.25V. Today, I've been rendering for quite a while and notice that CPUZ only shows the Core Voltage at 1.248V. Is it just some uncertainty of the program or is it my motherboard (Asus P6T) that isn't able to supply a voltage within tolerance?



Ignore the minor differences in min/max sample times. I opened it up just for a screenshot, but the max temp is after half a day of rendering (with all 12 threads).

I'm using a Swiftech GTZ waterblock and a swiftech triple rad, and those are my temps. I just hate how the difference between the highest temp and lowest temp is over 10 degrees. Is this because of the way the block is designed? The inlet isn't in the middle, but rather on opposite corners.

Anyways... do you have any tips that could help me run at 4GHz and possibly boost up my ram to 1600? Or should I just leave my RAM as is and try to focus on CPU clock speed?

Thanks for looking!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 06:23 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

1.30V To Start....

this CPUs handle VOltage good.

Also, Whats your Load temp...With ITB, OCCT, Prime...

Last edited by Chromey; June 26, 2010 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 06:36 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Close to 70 degrees for the hottest core and around 55 - 65 degrees for the coolest one. The screenshot of my RealTemp GT is a fairly good estimation. Just add like 5 degrees for the average, since those temps are with the window open with a nice breeze flowing in :P
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 06:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

If I see a diffrence of more then 5-8'C per core I reseat.

Even @ 70'C you have room to move.

Is thier anything else on the loop?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 07:03 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

No, just running the CPU in the loop. Could the temperature difference be caused by the design on the waterblock? The Swiftech GTZ waterblock (which is what I am using) has the inlet and outlet on opposite corners, rather than having the inlet in the middle. I will try reseating again when I have time; exam time coming =(

So I'll try bumping my Vcore to 1.3 and see what kind of BCLK I can get. Any tips for better RAM timings? Like maybe the voltages that most people adjust.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 06:01 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

To compare, my 980x has an EK HF waterblock on it - I also have a GTX480sc in the loop, overclocked.
I don't know what rad you run, i'm running a TFC triple rad.

My overclock is : Core speed: 4189Mhz Mult x25, Bus speed 167Mhz vcore 1.329V..(reported by CPUZ) temps sit around 50c on all cpu cores, and gpu core is 45c. Both are running folding@home 100% util. 70c is unreasonable, I would think something is wrong there.
I'm also sitting in an air conditioned room @ 67F

As for the voltage difference, I always see that with CPU-Z - I probably have the vcore set to 1.35 in the bios, but shows up as 1.32 in windows CPUZ.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 07:18 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
If I see a diffrence of more then 5-8'C per core I reseat.

Even @ 70'C you have room to move.

Is thier anything else on the loop?

70oC is really hot for 980x, this ain't a 920 etc. Especially on water

OP i wouldn't mind core temps difference, intel temps sensor sucks

also cpuz isn't a dmm, don't worry about voltage being different than what have been set in the bios
__________________

Last edited by mkultra; June 27, 2010 at 07:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 08:26 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

70c is not hot for intel chips at all. tcase is 67.9 which is the same as the 920 core temp is not tcase.point taken ambient can be a b!tch
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; June 27, 2010 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 09:14 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

i didn't mean hot by dangerously hot, they just runs cooler than that that's it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 12:35 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

It must be the ability of the block and rad then, because at idle, it sits as low as 16C, but only when loaded, it steadily climbs to ~70C. Or perhaps it is the seating of the block, as Chromey said. I'll try and get some better results and repost temps. Thanks for all the input so far.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM timings and voltage Maplicito RAM 17 May 20, 2010 09:26 PM
Ram voltage 1.5 or 1.9 johnnyblazzwa RAM 21 January 25, 2010 03:48 PM
OS Stability Question CORE O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 January 4, 2009 11:04 PM
What kills CPUs in the longrun? Voltage or Temps? RA3KW0N Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 September 24, 2008 07:55 PM
ram temps? bushwickbill RAM 5 August 31, 2007 05:35 PM