Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2010, 11:35 PM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default Are these temps Ok?

Hello,

This is my very first build so I am not sure what the acceptable temps are for your cpu, so I thought I would ask you guys.

I am running a AMD Phenom II x4 965be @ 3.6Ghz. My idle temps are ~32C and after 5 hours of prime95 it has been stable at ~55C with a high of 57C.

Are these temperatures reasonable?
Is 5 hours of prime95 enough testing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 12:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

Temps look fine to me. You might want to do at least 8 hours of prime95 to determine whether it's stable or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 06:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Default

62c is the thermal limit for that cpu don't go over it. In fact I would try to keep temps 10c below that.

What cooler are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 07:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO/RH/Markham
Posts: 244

My System Specs

Default

yeah, mid-50s are kinda high, in my opinion...i run prime95 for 10+ hours, to check for stability...if it fits, u could go with the Cooler Master Hyper 212+, best bang for the buck...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 07:45 AM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default

I am using a Cooler Master 690II Advanced Case (Stock fans on case) with the Cooler Master Hyper 212+ on the CPU mentioned above,

Is ~30 a good idle temp?
What is a good temp when on full load?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 07:48 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

IMO, having run the hyper 212+ on a 955be mounted on an open air testbed your temps look to be about right for being installed in a case. If you wanted to drop your load temps down a bit you might want to consider a second fan for a push/pull config.

What's your vcore?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 07:58 AM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default

I have a question about my Vcore. It seems that my Vcore goes up and down depending on my load (.96V - 1.36V).

Is this normal?
I am pretty sure the Vcore is being changed by my bios, should I change it so it doesn't change on its own?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 08:04 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,261

My System Specs

Smile Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

Simple fan swap to a higher cfm can help make a significant enough difference in some cases. It seems to me this case has good air flow already. As stated by another member, another fan or 2 could help. You can get a good one with great cfm and low dbs. A bit of research may be needed but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 08:09 AM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default

I have bought 2 extra 140mm fans, just waiting for them to send it to me. Hopefully the fans arrive soon. :)

As for the question above, is the VCORE fine (~0.96V - 1.36V, changes on its own depending on load)?
__________________
System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @3.6GHZ
CM 690 II Advanced
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 08:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

That's a normal function of the motherboard/cpu adjusting the vcore according to load. Unless it's affecting your stability, I'd leave it as is.

By the Vcore you have, I'm guessing you haven't needed to bump your vcore up for your current OC? If so, then yeah, your temps seem a bit high, but not so over the top that it sounds like there's more than what a second mount might resolve..... do you have a tube of thermal paste?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with temps! ITaoI CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 16, 2009 06:20 PM
i7 temps gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 March 9, 2009 10:02 AM
Are these temps right? overlords Air Cooling 15 January 18, 2009 04:10 PM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 01:34 PM
temps Kassela Troubleshooting 7 March 13, 2008 03:46 PM