Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 11:00 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
..well not really...the Wife gets that one !!!
so very true, i just meant that for the geeks in us all once you play with any i7 the speeds are quite noticeable
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2010, 10:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
..well not really...the Wife gets that one !!!

my wife gettin one
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2010, 08:17 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

My wifes had my E8400 for about a year and a half now ;) ....soon being handed down to my kids ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2010, 08:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The 930 is, as you might imagine, just a slightly faster 920. However, you can often find it for the same price or around the same price as the 920, so if it will cost you the same or not much more (or even less; I've seen the 930 for cheaper than the 920), there's no reason not to go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2010, 09:41 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

I've been able to hit 4GHz with my i7 920 D0 (which happens to be for sale, since I've upgraded) but I've kept it at 3.8 @ 1.175V for the majority of the time. Results will probably differ from board to board, but just throwing this out there.

Last edited by bkh2; June 6, 2010 at 12:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 09:20 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

I'd just get the cheaper chip you can find, the difference between a 920 and a 930 is minimal, both will overclock just as good if you get a good chip no matter is it's a 920 or 930. Even a dog i7 is still pretty much 4ghz guarantee.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 02:21 PM
Pankie's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 73
Default

not at 920's are sugar coded 4ghz at 1.2

I am pretty unlucky in that I need atleast 1.24 to pump out 4ghz :(

But yes, get a 920 D0 and try to find a good batch#
__________________
Ottawa !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 930 Help! soulicro Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 10, 2010 01:32 PM
[WTB] S775 Motherboard and I7 920/930 cpu + x58 motherboard Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 May 22, 2010 10:23 PM
[WTB] WTB: I7 920 D0/930 + MB + Ram Rison Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 5, 2010 11:07 AM
I7 930 32nm??? Silvgearx CPU's and Motherboards 20 February 28, 2010 08:16 AM