Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 02:00 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

If your clocking the HT link you need more juice for the SB voltage. Or just keep the HTT within 2000mhz.

1.4 on CPU-NB is really high, are you sure your temperature are aright? CPU voltage on the other hand is a bit low for a 7xx series. switch it up with the CPU-NB.

Also since your clocking with HT turn up the NB volts and SB volts by 1. EG 1.2 for NB 1.3 for SB



Another problem might be dude to your PSU not having enough juice. These Phenom II are power hungry mother . Not 100% sure on the PSU and it be best to get a second opinion from an expert.

Last edited by Silvgearx; June 3, 2010 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 02:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

I'd second the idea of possibly changing the PSU, but your immediate issue of 5 hr prime fail indicates that you're pretty damn close to stable. Anything beyond 2 hrs usually means that it's only a small voltage tweak away.......

You can also try jury-rigging a 120mm fan over your chipset cooling to rule out overheating on those components.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 03:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO/RH/Markham
Posts: 244

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Thx everyone! I figured-out what was wrong...stupid me.

I had CPU-NB voltage at 1.4V, but my RAM was 1.8V only, not 2.1V as I indicated above. So, I bumped-up the RAM voltage to 2.1V. Ran Prime95 since this morning, and it ran for 11 hours and 21 minutes with no errors and no warnings!!!

Woohoo! Yeah! Finally!

Pushing 4 cores @ 3.25GHz, and RAM @ 1000MHz. Final settings I used:
FSB 250
Multiplier 13x
CPU-NB Voltage 1.4V (***EDIT*** Brought this down to 1.325V...ran Prime95 for 10 hours...stable)
CPU-NB Frequency 2250MHz
HTT Frequency 1800MHz
RAM Frequency 400
RAM Timings 5-5-5-18
RAM Voltage 2.1V

Last edited by cul8erppl; June 4, 2010 at 06:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 08:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO/RH/Markham
Posts: 244

My System Specs

Default

super thread revival...

Pushing 4 cores @ 3.6ghz, and RAM @ 1477mhz...P95 blended for 15 hours stable...20 passes of IBT @ max...

FSB 277mhz
CPU Multi 13x
NB Freq 2216mhz
RAM Ratio 5.33x @ 738.6mhz @ 7-7-7-20 @ 1.8V
CPU-NB Voltage 1.5V
CPU-NB VID Control Normal
NB Voltage Control Normal
All thermal settings disabled
Core temp @ idle 26C
Core temp @ load 53C
CPU temp @ idle 39C
CPU temp @ load 66C
Room temp @ 22C
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help me unlock my 4th core..! ultraman7k Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 31, 2010 08:42 PM
Core Unlock Switch? jcmaz CPU's and Motherboards 10 March 13, 2010 07:43 AM
Successful 550 unlock (i think) johnnyblazzwa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 March 4, 2010 09:17 AM
AMD unlock phil3_66666 CPU's and Motherboards 5 November 17, 2009 05:46 PM
Help!! I can't unlock these RAID Drives!? bushwickbill Troubleshooting 38 July 30, 2008 10:51 PM