Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 29, 2010, 05:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default SSD Tweaks

This is my first time playing with an SSD and I'm finding that all the information online is pretty much conflicting.

The drive I bought is the Intel X25-V Value SATA Solid-State Drive. So far things are faster, but not incredible.

Can anyone recommend tweaks to do with REASONS why?

Almost everyone has said to remove the swap from the SSD and other tweaks. This says to do otherwise: Support and Q&A for Solid-State Drives - Engineering Windows 7 - Site Home - MSDN Blogs

Any recommendations with solid facts?
Old May 29, 2010, 06:10 PM
F@H

My System Specs

You move the page file to limit writes to the drive. It does slow things during page file writes, but extends the life of the SSD.

Other than that, I did the tweaks described here: Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks
Old May 29, 2010, 06:40 PM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer

The link SugarJ posted has all the big ones, and a bunch of minor ones. With fairly good explanations. Not all are needed. Not all work. Its hit or miss on write caching and same goes for superfetch. I usually leave write caching alone and set superfetch to boot programs only. I like to disable hibernate as it takes up space. Where you only got 40gb (and should leave a MIN of 10% free) the more you can free up the better.

Do them and that will squeeze the most out of it performance wise, assuming that the alignments are correct. Should be IF it was a fresh install of win 7....if it was via clone....not so much and its hit or miss. Run AS-SSD and see what it says for the offset.