Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2010, 02:14 AM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default Help with I7-920 OC before I hulkify

Quote:
Originally Posted by System
CPU Type QuadCore Intel Core i7 920, 3700 MHz (21 x 176) (C0 stepping D: )

Motherboard Name Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x4, 3 PCI-E x16, 6 DDR3 DIMM, Audio, Dual Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)

Motherboard Chipset Intel Tylersburg X58, Intel Nehalem

System Memory 6144 MB (DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM)

DIMM1: OCZ XTC Platinum OCZ3P1600LV2G 2 GB DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM (7-7-7-16 @ 533 MHz) (6-6-6-14 @ 457 MHz) (5-5-5-12 @ 380 MHz)

DIMM3: OCZ XTC Platinum OCZ3P1600LV2G 2 GB DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM (7-7-7-16 @ 533 MHz) (6-6-6-14 @ 457 MHz) (5-5-5-12 @ 380 MHz)

DIMM5: OCZ XTC Platinum OCZ3P1600LV2G 2 GB DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM (7-7-7-16 @ 533 MHz) (6-6-6-14 @ 457 MHz) (5-5-5-12 @ 380 MHz)
Seriously ramming my face against my keyboard for the last couple of days hoping that the values that would come up might actually work.

This adventure of OC'ing has become level's upon level's of frustration as I try (horribly) and get as close to 4.0ghz as I humanly can, or should I say try and get it to even boot with higher clock speeds. The current overclock? Oh, that's with me upping the BLCK to 176 and keeping turbo on. That's it. Everythnig else is kept at automatic. Figured it shouldn't be too hard to manually increase voltages and get the thing up to 3.9-4.0, hell, shouldn't be that hard to get to 3.8.

Apparently it is that hard. Rabble rabble rabble.

I've cranked voltage levels only to get it to crash on the windows screen, which is frustrating to say the least, but it get's worse. Unless I've misread something somewhere, if I even touch my QPI/VTT voltages, it doesn't boot. I have to reset my CMOS to even get my computer to start, at least when I keep it on automatic I'm able to watch my computer crash as it cries in pain.

Hell, I've tried some insane values just to try and get my computer to be stable enough to log into windows; as a prime example.

Quote:
BCLK: 203x19
VCORE: 1.4-1.5
PLL: 1.88
DRAM: 1.5
IOH/ICH: 1.2
QPI/VTT: 1.4 (doesn't boot) QPI/VTT: Automatic (crashes on windows splash screen)
Anywho, anyone have any idea's? I've fiddled with options, voltages, turned off turbo mode, even touched things I've never heard of before.
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 10:07 PM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

I'm guessing the fact that this has had over 90 views over the course of two days without a single comment means I'm a lost cause? :\
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 10:27 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I'd try n help you out, but that aint my Board....Evga classy here...if you had the same I'd be able to help you out, not familiar with the BIOS on that Gig Board...lots of folks here are familiar with those gig Boards...surprised they haven't chimed in...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2010, 05:58 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

the first thing you can do is turn off turbo get it running on a x20 then lower that pll 1.88 should be up words of 4.7. try running it with out turbo on this board adn see if it's any better. the x20 should help a lot it really messes up the giga-board because it leaves it on all the time.

just to let you know that gigabyte boards normally don't do that great on auto you have to set the main voltages

my settings that are totally stable go's as

for 4.0ghz 4.2 4.4
LL calibrate enable enable enable
cpu vcore 1.26 1.31 1.35
qpi/vtt 1.25 1.3 1.35
IoH core auto auto auto anything higher then 4.4ghz needs a boost from auto to 1.2 to a max of 1.3
dram 1.5 1.5 1.5

pcie auto auto 101-102
qpi/pll 1.78 1.8 1.8
IoHcore auto auto 1.2
IcH I/O auto auto auto
IcH core auto auto 1.1

hope this helps at all good luck this chips oc really easy it just takes some getting used to my D0 will do 4.7 on 1.4 great chips. this is all on water

gtz block with a mcr.120.3 swiftech edit sorry i did lay it out right it just put it back
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 10:44 AM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Still nothing. Even ignoring the fact my board won't hit the same voltages for some thing (qpi/pll for example), or the fact that my board won't boot if I touch qpi/vtt still, the most I can get with massive playing around is get it to crash on the windows login screen; which I suppose it farther than before.

Starting to think I got either the worst CPU in the batch or something is wrong with my mobo. :\
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 11:02 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

have you updates the bios? solved a lot of early problems that some had. do you have your uncore running isochronous support to enable.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 11:24 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

I see you have a Gigabyte Board.

Their unofficial support forum is at tweaktown...there are a few Gigabyte engineers who hang out there. LSDMEASP is a mod who hangs out there who has great success helping folks.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 11:27 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

What is the rated spec speed of your RAM and what are you trying to run it at? Have you bumped up your vDimm from 1.55v to 1.65v? Something aint right....you should be able to get to your Desktop at a moderate OC without crashing, even with a poorly binned CO Chip.....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 11:29 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

^my thoughts,even with the worst binned chips
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:17 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Yeah I can get my crappy ole CO Chip to 4.3 Ghz with a successful Bench run .....I know it aint "stable", but not that unstable.....

Sounds like he maybe not getting his Bclk inline with his RAM Ratio.....obviously if his RAM is set wayyyyy to high it will crash immediately or not Post at all.....just a thought...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] i7 920 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 5, 2010 06:48 PM
[WTB] i7 920 kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 23, 2009 06:59 AM
I7 920 is there HT elec999 CPU's and Motherboards 3 June 2, 2009 05:42 AM
help me WC a i7 920? go flames go Water Cooling 16 April 10, 2009 07:22 AM