Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 01:19 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default Overclock or Underclock for gaming?

Guys please before I loose my mind explain to me this.
AvP benchmark. CPU stock
Name:  avp_stock.jpg
Views: 886
Size:  124.8 KB

CPU OC
Name:  avp_oc.jpg
Views: 911
Size:  121.7 KB

CPU underclock
Name:  avp_uc.jpg
Views: 895
Size:  124.4 KB

How in the name of God I have 47 FPS with 1.6Ghz CPU and 32 FPS with 3.5GHz CPU?
CPU is perfect fine, stable in any stability tests or games. It looks normal in HyperPi or Realtemp Bench but in games results are crazy if I OC it.
Same results like AvP I have in STALKER:CoP benchmark or Stone Giant. Basically 17% CPU OC = -15% FPS in those. It's insane.

I'm not an OC-er but I'm curious about this anomaly.
Attached Images
       
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 01:43 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well there's a problem because i can run hyper pi and the higher my ghz the better my scores are. for the other benchmark i have not used it so i can't speak.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 02:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,527

My System Specs

Default

Maybe there's an automatic quality degredation based solely on perceived clock speed that allows for higher fps at lower clocks? Doesn't make much sense but that's the only thing I can come up with.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 02:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

did you screw up your memory speed and/or timings when you oc'd?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 06:22 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Are you using 10.5? Maybe its a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 06:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

look up other benches. if same, then play a ticket and win the 40 mil for sure
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 07:44 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default Intel Drivers

If you can play windowed game. Try Ctrl/ALT/DEL, task Manager, Preformance, Resorce Monitor, CPU

and see if your Intel drivers are paking a core at higher clocks and not at lower clocks

play around with Recorce monitor it tells you what your computer i doing

carful not to X anthing out unless you realy know what it is !
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 09:40 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

First of all thanks for replies.
Second I OC with SetFSB. 3.5GHz is maximum for my maximum VID (1.225).
I'll try to OC directly from BIOS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
well there's a problem because i can run hyper pi and the higher my ghz the better my scores are.
HyperPi/SPi looks fine here too. Higher clocks->lower times. Good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Maybe there's an automatic quality degredation based solely on perceived clock speed that allows for higher fps at lower clocks?
SetFSB to be the culprit? But why CPU benches are OK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Are you using 10.5? Maybe its a bug.
Yup, that 10.6 leaked (8.740). Damn, now 10.6 Beta 2 is out (for XP though).

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
look up other benches. if same, then play a ticket and win the 40 mil for sure
I'll try. Both.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
If you can play windowed game. Try Ctrl/ALT/DEL, task Manager, Preformance, Resorce Monitor, CPU
I know what I'm doing because I'm a monitoring freak. In weekend I'll put Riva at work and I'll monitor everything.
For now I was just curious why my rig is better with CPU lower frequencies.

LE: I see something interesting in AvP benchmark. Higher the clocks->lower the Number of frames .
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

Last edited by burebista; May 27, 2010 at 09:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 11:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Default

My wild guess at this problem is that when you use SetFSB, you can screw up the ability of the internal timers to correctly measure time so if your computer can not accurately measure elapsed time then it can not accurately calculate the frames per second numbers.

Just a wild guess. To test this theory you would need to run the same 3 benchmarks at the same MHz but set the MHz in the bios and don't use SetFSB.

The other benchmarks you've posted show that the CPU is running faster when you overclock like it should be. Maybe something is built into this benchmark to punish anyone that tries to cheat by using SetFSB. Try finding another benchmark. How about the heaven one?

Edit: I multiplied the FSB times the FPS numbers and got 12747, 12717 and 12647. I think this bench is using the wrong internal timer to measure time and SetFSB is confusing it.

Last edited by unclewebb; May 27, 2010 at 11:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 11:27 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
My wild guess at this problem is that when you use SetFSB, you can screw up the ability of the internal timers to correctly measure time so if your computer can not accurately measure elapsed time then it can not accurately calculate the frames per second numbers.
Kevin it looks like a winner not a wild guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
To test this theory you would need to run the same 3 benchmarks at the same MHz but set the MHz in the bios and don't use SetFSB.
Agree, I'll do that in weekend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
Try finding another benchmark. How about the heaven one?
Benchmarks that are not relying on CPU are perfect fine. Unigine 2.0 and GluxMark.
Name:  unigine20.jpg
Views: 769
Size:  104.3 KB
Name:  gluxmark1.jpg
Views: 764
Size:  89.0 KB

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
Edit: I multiplied the FSB times the FPS numbers and got 12747, 12717 and 12647. I think this bench is using the wrong internal timer to measure time and SetFSB is confusing it.
Kevin you're my hero as usual. Your explanations make perfect sense. I'll backup them with data in this weekend.

But AvP is not the only one which is crazy.
STALKER:CoP stock
Name:  stalker_cop_stoc.png
Views: 857
Size:  64.3 KB

STALKER:CoP OC
Name:  stalker_cop_oc.png
Views: 825
Size:  68.1 KB

Stone Giant (first two runs stock DoF on/off and next two runs OC DoF on/off)
Name:  stone_giant..jpg
Views: 786
Size:  92.3 KB
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

Last edited by burebista; May 27, 2010 at 11:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My First Overclock Cardboard box with DSL Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 April 11, 2012 05:11 PM
Help overclock Kappy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 September 2, 2008 01:58 PM
overclock evzonas CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 31, 2008 04:49 PM
24/7 Overclock? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 August 25, 2007 04:32 PM
Well I got one, now how do I overclock it? Supergrover Off Topic 11 May 1, 2007 02:30 PM