Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2010, 11:45 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,027

My System Specs

Default Yeh 3.1 ghz

This has been a personal battel fore me. I have fialaly clocked my i7 920 to 3.1 Ghz its a C0/C1 stepping . With some new ram Mushkin and this bench I have been making lots of beeping noises lately. I hope this is stable because I like it. Mushkin 998778 9-9-9 24 running PC3-12800.

Edit : firt under 12 min
Attached Images
   
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY

Last edited by ZZLEE; May 15, 2010 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 03:20 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

Your probably making lots of beeping because your not keeping your ram and uncore at the right spec effective ram speed then your qpi/NB has to be x 2 and a little bit ( 400mhz fro me ). ie. your running it at 800mhz so 1600 effective. so your qpi/northbridge should be at least a min 3447 try turning it up 1 or 2 multi.

For example i run my ram at 800mhz effective 1600 so my qpi/NB is at 3600.
when i started oc i7's this was my biggest problem at lower speeds the multi for ram sucks. most c1/c0 will do 3.4 to 3.6 at around 1.25Vcore.jmo

I times my ram by 2 then add 400mhz so if ram speed is effective 1400mhz then Qpi/NB is 3200mhz.

try and lower your voltage.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; May 15, 2010 at 03:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 06:33 AM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

5 characters
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 07:43 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

ya i even got a little lost trying to explain myself, first thing in the morning helping the wife get ready horse show not the best sleeping mind.i i guess i got luck with my c1/co it will do 3.8@1.2
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 11:56 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,027

My System Specs

Default Higher volt gets beeps

I am going to see how stable this set up is fore a bit.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 12:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yeah even c0's oc bettert han that. dont lazy out mang!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 12:38 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,027

My System Specs

Default In eeleet

pushing a bit more

Edit: wont prime crsshed
Attached Images
 
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY

Last edited by ZZLEE; May 15, 2010 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7 ghz overclock wow Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 8 November 16, 2009 08:57 AM
4 Ghz stable(?) bkh2 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 August 24, 2009 05:20 AM
I7 Stable @ 3.81 Ghz rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 March 10, 2009 11:37 PM
2.84 GHZ on Q9450 CTA Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 42 October 25, 2008 11:11 AM
I need help getting my e8400 to 4.0 Ghz dopedave Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 July 8, 2008 09:38 PM