Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 11, 2010, 11:11 AM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Default Kingston 64GB V Gen 2 SSD not hitting good r/w numbers can you help

So after installing my new SNV425-S2/64GB Kingston SSD 64Gb and loading a fresh install of windows 7 ulimate x64 (enabled AHCI first in bios before loading windows) Im not getting any where near the advertised maximums while others with the same drive are exceeding those Numbers provided by manufacturer.

I have manually disabled Disk Defrag, and through the CMD shut hiberbnation off. trim is turned on.
system:
Q6600 no OC
Asus P5Q Pro Turbo
6GB Ram
SNV425-S2/64GB SSD
Windows 7 Ulimate x64
500w psu
HD 5750 Xfire

the controller...??? im a noob to SSD, when i installed it windows 7 installs the default jmicron controller as far as i can tell.

the first screen shot is mine the second one of a NCIX forum poster trying to help me.

Old May 11, 2010, 12:03 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

I'm running the same SSD and getting nearly identical 4k speeds and access times that you are getting. Your Sequential read/writes are pretty far off, as I'm getting roughly 240MB/sec reads and 110MB/sec writes as advertised. Other then that the numbers seem accurate for this value-priced drive.

I highly doubt the user on NCIX is getting 140MB/sec sequential writes, the drives only designed up too 110MB/sec. Do you have a link to this discussion and does the user include any screens with the full results?
Old May 11, 2010, 12:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

See what happens when not in AHCI mode. Does the drive support TRIM?
Old May 11, 2010, 12:44 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
OP said AHCI mode is set. Yes TRIM is supported.
Old May 11, 2010, 01:10 PM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer