Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 10:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default "Perfect" CPU Core Temp?

I'm currently at a low of 35c and a high of 45c, and now my question, what is the perfect temperature you guys like to see your CPU's running at?

Also, if it matters, I'm using Core Temp 0.99.6 to check, if you suggest something better feel free. Also, I'm sure when I run something intense like a game or what not, my temps go up? Is there a good big load temp that I should be trying to stay under?

Also, do you guys have any cooler suggestions for the i5 750 (LGA1156)? I don't think I will overclock anytime soon but it would be nice to order one. I kind of like this one here.

Thanks.

-The noob of Hardware Canucks

Last edited by irtehleet; May 10, 2010 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 10:40 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Try RealTemp. Maybe you'll like it more because it's made by a Canuck.
Load your CPU with prime95 Large FFTs (or FFT-z). Let it run for 15 minutes or so and tell us your load core temps.
As for max temp usually I say that keep distance to TJMax >20 in daily use and enjoy your rig.

For an aftermarket cooler depends on your OC goal, silence and budget. You can take a look at top dogs like Noctua NH-D14, Prolimatech Mehahalems, Thermalright VenomousX/TRUE rev.C or Zalman Flex/Quiet/10X or if you don't want hardcore OC and have a tight budget you can take a look at HDT ones like Titan Fenrir, Xigmatek Thors Hammer or Coolink Corator or a clasic one Scythe Mugen 2.
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

Last edited by burebista; May 10, 2010 at 10:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 10:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

I just downloaded prime95 and have absolutely no idea how to use it, lol.

Large FFTs?
Load core temp?

Im a noob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 11:06 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

OK I have a hunch so that's why I edited my post and I linked you an easier program: FFT-z.
Pick 5 or 30 minutes and hit GO. Watch your temps with RealTemp during test.

Name:  fft-z.png
Views: 1010
Size:  20.3 KB
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 11:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

Alright, thanks. Will be trying this when I get my new build up.

On my current build I'm hitting 60c on 100% Load
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 11:31 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

60C is perfect fine. What room temperature?
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 11:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

Room Temp being TCase Max I assume (Still using Core Temp)

52C
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 12:03 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

No man, your room/ambient temperature. You live in 52C room temperature?
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 05:24 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

heat does not kill chips voltage does. anything under 80c. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 05:31 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

You CPU is running great.

@gingerbee: for the most part yes, however temperature can degrade the chip over time. For the most part a CPU/GPU will throttle itself if it gets too hot and stay within a certain threshold. But, alas, who cares if you've taken one year off of the 15 year lifespan of the chip :).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom II X2 550 BE the new "best bang for buck" CPU? GregH CPU's and Motherboards 11 August 8, 2009 04:10 PM
CPU temp vs Core temp phil3_66666 Air Cooling 4 July 31, 2009 09:39 PM
What is this button on the "Real Temp 3.00 " App mean? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 May 21, 2009 08:23 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM