Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 01:35 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default BALISTX Intel E2180 Overclock

BALISTX'S Intel E2180 Overclock




Intro

When I originally got my system I tested outside the case and was able to get a 2.8GHz overclock from the stock 2.0GHz at stock voltage. Once I discovered my PSU was bad when I put it inside the case I decided when I got the PSU back last week from RMA I would run it at stock for a while. So today I got the urge to OC it again. I tried putting it to 2.8GHz but it crashed on loading windows. So I decided to start off at 2.6 and here is the story.

Quote:
Setup:
MB: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L (Rev.1)
CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180 @ 2.75GHz (M0 Stepping)
CPU Cooling: Stock Intel HSF
RAM: Mushkin HP-6400 PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz @ 825MHz 4-4-4-12 2T
GPU: XFX GeForce 7900 GS Extreme Edition GDDR3 256MB 256-bit (G71 GS) @ Core - 480MHz / Memory - 1400MHz
NB Cooling: Stock
SB Cooling: Stock
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
HD: Seagate 250GB 7200rpm 16MB SATAII
OS: Windows XP Pro SP2

Ambient Temperature: 19-20C
CPU Temperature: Core 0 27C / Core 1 28C @ idle
Core 0 36C / Core 1 40C @ load
Overclocked to 2.6GHz


It was stable running Super PI

Overclocked to 2.7GHz


Again running Super PI it's stable.

Overclocked to 2.8GHz

It crashed loading windows at stock volts.

Overclocked to 2.75GHz


Ran Super PI it was stable.


3DMark 06 Test



I was surprised my score wasn't higher I do not know what is bottlenecking me.

Quote:
Benchmark Settings
Resolution: 1024x768
Anti-Aliasing: None
Texture Filtering: Bilinear
VS Profile: 3.0
PS Profile: 3.0

Selected Tests
SM2.0 Graphics Tests
- GT1 - Return to Proxycon
- GT2 - Firefly Forest

CPU Tests
- CPU1 - Red Valley
- CPU2 - Red Valley

HDR/SM3.0 Graphics Test
- HDR1 - Canyon Flight
- HDR2 - Deep Freeze
Conclusion

I am currently at stock voltage of 1.2 vcore and I since I only have the stock Intel HSF I do not want to up the voltage until I get a better cooler. For right now 2.75GHZ from 2.0GHz is a decent OC for me. I have not ran Orthos yet but I will tonight when I am at the hockey game and see if it is truely stable at 2.75GHz.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 08:07 PM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

I'm pretty sure it's the power saving features still being turned on in the BIOS. The cpu vcore shouldn't be that low unless you do. You are showing 1.13 with an overclock setting, my 2160 would auto that low with 1.17, but all my overclocks have it showing at 1.296V which is probably 1.3v in the BIOS. The chips max voltage is 1.35v I think, and many motherboards would auto it that high.

So go ahead and set the vcore to 1.25 or 1.275 or 1.3V, even with the stock HSF you will be fine. If those temps you posted are overclocked (even with the power savings feature on), you'll still be just fine. Hold it back at 50C load is all.

$20 will get you an AC Freezer Pro when they are on sale, and the Scythe Katana II was $21. Both these will get you several degrees improvement from the stock one, and not make any noise doing it. Well worth the $20 even for a temporary solution while you shop or save up for higher end.

Even with those coolers, and still limited to 1.3v Vcore, your overclock will probably be limited by heat and not lack of voltage or motherboard capability. They get fricken hot when they run fast no matter how little voltage you give 'em, and I've found they throttle back on you with temps that report way less than Intel says the throttle should kick in.

This can kind of relate to your score maybe. If the cpu gets really hot it'll throttle back it's speed for a period of time, then lets loose again until it throttles back again. I caught this cycle with an app called WebTemp. You can use it with SpeedFan or Everest to record sensor data over time in nice little graphs.

The system was running folding at home, or orthos... can't remember which. Vcore was 1.4v and cpu temps spiked at 58C. This with a Scythe Ninja Plus Rev B on it, and massive case cooling.





.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 08:25 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default for stock cooling

Thats a decent OC for a stock cooler.
Youll have to work out what to do with that extra cpu power! Bioshock maybe?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 09:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Yup, follow Lithotech's comments and you're good to go. Don't forget to disable Speedstep (E1ST). My E2140 did 3.0 easily with the Arctic Cooling 7Pro. Yours can do better, for sure.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2007, 12:46 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I went into the BIOS, and turned off all the power management and that seemed to make things run more stable. The vcore in CPUZ went to 1.16v which in the BIOS it's showing as 1.2v Temps are running good at 29, 30 at idle.

Here is a screen shot I took during a Super PI test. You can see the load temps.

__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2007, 07:14 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

That's pretty good, considering the very low voltage! Slap on an after-market HSF, and that chip will show its true potential.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2007, 10:23 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Try pushing that memory of yours also....! It will probably go up a lot higher! And just for your info....SuperPi does NOT put your CPU under heavy load! Use Prime95 for that or something.
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2007, 11:48 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

When I was running Sandra SiSoft it got the temps up to 46C, 47C I'm going to run an instance of Orthos, but I don't want to push it too much right now with inadequate cooling. I only have two case fans a 120mm exhaust and an 80mm on the side blowing air in over top the processor and ram. My 120mm intake was killed by my defective PSU.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2007, 01:09 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I ran a mini stress test of an hour with Orthos SFF CPU test and the temps never rose past 55C for both cores in Core Temp and 53C for both cores in Intel TAT.

__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2007, 07:17 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,898
Default

Hey guys, check this out: CPU-Z Validator Database
Respect for the little guy...
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking e2180 experiences Mr. Cipher Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 March 19, 2008 06:36 AM
temp. monitoring utilities and e2180 nikitos Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 15, 2008 01:12 PM
donimo's e2180 o/c log donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 19 January 13, 2008 03:09 PM
Well I got one, now how do I overclock it? Supergrover Off Topic 11 May 1, 2007 02:30 PM
Intel P4 3.0 Northwood Overclock enaberif Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 March 3, 2007 12:56 AM