Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 09:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default First OC, PhIIX6, Voltage...

Hello there,

I'll be recieving 2 systems soon , specs :

Game PC :

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Mugen 2.
Asus Crosshair IV 890FX
MSI Hawk 5770
MSI Hawk 5770 (CF)
8 Gigs of GEIL BLACK DRAGON mem. (1600Mhz)
Intel X-25M Postville 80Gigs
Samsung Spinpoint F3EG 2TB.
Sony Optiarc AD-7240S
Windows 7 Pro.
Nexus RX-8500 PSU.
Nine Hundred Two.

Media PC :

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Mugen 2.
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
Sapphire 5750 Vapor-X.
4 Gigs of OCZ Platinum. (1333Mhz)
Intel Postville X25-V 40 Gigs...
Samsung Spinpoint F3EG 2TB.
Samsung Spinpoint F3EG 2TB. (No Raid-setup...)
AD-7240S
Windows 7 HP.
Nexus RX-6300 PSU.
CM 690 Advanced II.

Of course, I wanna overclock 'em. But, i'm only 13 years old , and I don't wanna make any big risks...

My plan :

Phenom II X6 1090T : 3.7-3.8 Ghz, Turbo Disabled. (I want to reach the 4ghz barrier, but i'm 13, and it's a bit to risky.
Phenom II X6 1055T : 3.4-3.5 Ghz, Turbo Enabled.

I'd like to hear some tips on how to handle that. I can handle all the stuff with the FSB and Multiplier, but I don't understand the voltage part.

First of all, on what standard voltage do these boys run and on what voltage should I put'em considering the speeds I mentioned above...

I did see the NCIX Tech Tips part of overclocking the 1055T, but that's on 4ghz, I'm afraid that's not gonna happen

Thanks,
Thalmaray.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 10:18 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

whatever laws applicable or not, youre doing it at your own risk,etc.

whatever you may see or not see typed,implied or not implied any or all of the below and above shall be at your own risk etc...


with that out of the question, and of course you have full access to the hardware and are doing everything by the book without taking any unecessary risks to your persona, and others...



one may want to disable the turbo on both and perhaps maybe they would reach +- same clock rates with the 1090 in the better oc board probably a tad higher but i wouldnt expect mucho
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 01:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,522

My System Specs

Default

You should be pleasantly surprised with the 1090T if you're only shooting for 3.8. IIRC, mine did 3.6 without any voltage bumps and only needed 1.35V on the cpu for 3.8. All other voltages were left at stock.

I didn't see any third party cooling up there..... if you haven't already, do yourself a favour and get some CM Hyper 212+ thrown in for good measure.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 06:58 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

When I was 13 I wish I had a couple systems like that....

o.o
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 08:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Great, Thanks for the replies.

Ik will have Mugen 2's on both systems.
Now I know more about the 1090T.
Any tips for the 1055T ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 08:57 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,998

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalmaray View Post
Great, Thanks for the replies.

Ik will have Mugen 2's on both systems.
Now I know more about the 1090T.
Any tips for the 1055T ?
The 1055T will have to be OC'd by upping the clock speed since the multipliers can't be increased. Generally, many will proceed by actually Lowering the multiplier a step or two and increasing the clock speed slowly (10Mhz increments, stress test for 2-4 hours each time). Just remember that changing your clock will affect the whole system and not just the CPU, so you'll have to change your HT multiplier as well as your RAM ratios to keep everything in check.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 10:16 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you have time. if not, learn how to reset thine bios and jump 25-50mhz on the bus like the big boys do :p

prime+looping 3dmark will help. 5-10 mins, if good jump again. then let it prime for a while. and loop said 3dmark.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 10:44 AM
S7icky's Avatar
Trial Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

I know from my experince with oveclocking Phenoms for the 900 series 3.8 was the best your gonna get if you want stable with acceptable voltages. Im excited to see what i can get the 1090T @ since i got my 955 to 4.23 stable but way way to hot.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 11:11 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Damn when I was 13, I had a piece of $hit Pentium 4 system with RDRAM. My greatest "mod" was installing a 9500 Pro.

Kids are so lucky these days...

But on a more serious note...what's with the massively overkill media PC? Media PCs are usually enclosed in a desktop-style case with relatively poor airflow and you should be looking for a low-voltage quad or dual core CPU. What on earth will a media PC use a hexacore for?!!?!

Anyway, about the overclocking...the Mugen 2 is a fine heatsink but if you want to maximize your OCing potential, go and get an S1283, Ultra 120E or one of those high end heatsinks.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 08:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

From the four 1055T systems I've already built, 3 came with a stock vcore of 1.475 and one came in at 1.450 volts.

Luck of the draw as far as voltage goes with the 1055T. On some you may hit 3.7 to 3.8 with stock vcore while others may need up to 1.5 volts to achieve a stable overclock at those speeds.

My 1055T runs at 1.475 stock. I've actually decreased the stock vcore down to 1.3 volts and my chip can run 3.3ghz at 1.3 volts when turbo kicks in.

AMD "Thuban" Core (Phenom II X6) XS Overclocking Charts - XtremeSystems Forums

A good thread on X6 overclocks and voltages needed for stability.

Last edited by freeloader1969; May 10, 2010 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 voltage question gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 May 9, 2010 02:52 AM
i5 750 voltage? Draex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 December 31, 2009 06:04 AM
how much more nb voltage. kyle_L Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 24, 2009 06:31 PM
i7 voltage question gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 March 9, 2009 11:04 AM
Over Voltage a35599 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 February 26, 2008 09:21 PM