Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 11:34 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default Downsides to Gigabyte's "auto" overclocking?

Hi, I built this rig so I could play around with it more than a Dell/HP etc and recently thought I would try out the built in C.I.A. overclocking utility built into my P35-DS3L mobo.

It upped my e6750 from 2.66 to 3.26ghz, the RAM from 400 to 489.6 and the RAM voltage from 1.9 to 2.1.

Is this OK? it seems like a decent overclock, and all within the specs of my gear (OCZ gold rated to 2.1v in warranty).

I know I could go for more, but doing it this way allows it to ramp with load, it underclocks to 2.00ghz for internet stuff and then up to 3.3 for games etc, I kinda like that.

Just wanted to know what you all thought...

thanks!
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 11:45 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
Hi, I built this rig so I could play around with it more than a Dell/HP etc and recently thought I would try out the built in C.I.A. overclocking utility built into my P35-DS3L mobo.

It upped my e6750 from 2.66 to 3.26ghz, the RAM from 400 to 489.6 and the RAM voltage from 1.9 to 2.1.

Is this OK? it seems like a decent overclock, and all within the specs of my gear (OCZ gold rated to 2.1v in warranty).

I know I could go for more, but doing it this way allows it to ramp with load, it underclocks to 2.00ghz for internet stuff and then up to 3.3 for games etc, I kinda like that.

Just wanted to know what you all thought...

thanks!
Never use software to overclock do some research and learn to do it properly.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 12:23 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Never use software to overclock do some research and learn to do it properly.
While that does give me your opinion, it doesn't give me much info.

It is right in the BIOS, so it is just as much a "hardware" overclock as anything else I might try, isn't it?

And if I do an "official" o/c it would run at that speed constantly, even though 90% of the time it would be surfing the internets. Whereas with this way it runs underclocked for that, and overclock for games.

I see this as BETTER than a traditional o/c until I can find info on why not, y'know?

I want this rig to last a long time, and a constant overclock will run hotter, therefore may have an impact on lifespan...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 12:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
While that does give me your opinion, it doesn't give me much info.

It is right in the BIOS, so it is just as much a "hardware" overclock as anything else I might try, isn't it?

And if I do an "official" o/c it would run at that speed constantly, even though 90% of the time it would be surfing the internets. Whereas with this way it runs underclocked for that, and overclock for games.

I see this as BETTER than a traditional o/c until I can find info on why not, y'know?

I want this rig to last a long time, and a constant overclock will run hotter, therefore may have an impact on lifespan...
If your just surfing the net then don't bother overclocking.

You seem to have a few misconceptions too about overclocking. To get a proper overclock you need to turn off anything that downclocks the cpu and a overclocked cpu won't run hotter with proper cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 12:43 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

My wife uses the PC 100% for facebook and hotmail, and she is on it quite a bit. I use it about 75% for gaming, but as I also have an xbox 360 and 3 other consoles my gaming is split up and the PC isnt my primary gaming machine.

Other things I use this PC for is encoding video and audio, 2 things that benifit greatly from o/cing the CPU.

I have o/c'd before but it was on a p3 1266, and with it running at 1400 it does get hotter, and "with proper cooling" implies that it does get hotter, requiring a better heatsink.

I just don't get the difference between letting the mobo do it and doing it yourself, and I LIKE the ability to auto-under/overclock based on load, its a good thing not a bad thing.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 12:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
To get a proper overclock you need to turn off anything that downclocks the cpu
Not really. SpeedStep (E1ST) can be left enabled, it doesn't matter. Although I wouldn't use "Auto" features either and it's much more fun to tweak it by yourself!

The lifespan of a CPU is quite long, in fact, you'll have upgraded a few times before it dies under normal use.

Here's a pretty good guide:
Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.3)
Read guides here and there, study BIOS settings and you'll be overclocking in no time
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 01:03 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

See, now "more fun" is a reason, and so far it is the only one I have.

it's almost enough too.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 02:25 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,305
Default

The big downside to CIA is that it IS automated. By its very nature it will only be a mediocre OC. With a bit of tweaking and playing you could probably get a better OC by doing it yourself. Think of it like an Automatic transmission vs Manual. YES, the Auto will give you "good enough" but YOU can do much better when you can "feel" what it can take (and when to shift).

In my opinion CIA and its kind are good for people who want to say that they OC'ed their system but don't want to take the time to do it themselves. At the end of the day all that really matters is, is "good enough"....good enough FOR YOU. IF it is then CIA is OK...if not then its play time . Either way OC'ing (whether by you or by your comp) does technically void warranties....so why not have some fun and be able to justify the "risk" (which is minute...unless you blow up your system ).
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 04:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

I don't see anything wrong with using the bios "auto" overclock, but you are definately sacrificing some potential performance.

If you like the power saving features, then I'd say stick with it, but if you want full performance... have a look at what the auto OC does to settings and then start from there.

The only question I'd have is how fast the OC kicks in when gaming, and if that has much of an effect on gameplay.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2007, 05:22 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Very true, with prime96 it kicks in right away and doesnt let off till you quit, but in a game that varies its cpu load it may get flaky if its up/down all the time...

When I tried my first game on it (star Wars, empire at war) I was dissapointed cause it ran pretty badly on 1920x1200 at full settings, kinda hoped it would be ok...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking "get together" [Ottawa] Wankerfx Off Topic 27 March 16, 2008 03:08 PM
"Reviewer Tryouts" Sandisk Cruzer Micro Titanium 4gb Masasuka Member Reviews 16 January 27, 2008 04:27 PM
"Reviewer Tryouts:" Logitech Cordless Desktop LX710 Review Scratch Member Reviews 9 November 22, 2007 09:17 PM
Circuit Shitty fires 3400 "overpaid" employees Babrbarossa Off Topic 0 March 29, 2007 07:41 AM
TweakTown reviews GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition with "TEC" cooling Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 18, 2006 10:44 PM