Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 04:31 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default I5 750 OC, 1 core lagging?

got a question for you guys

ive just added 2 more sticks of ram for a total for 4x2gig, and while testing the ram, found out my OC became/or was not 100% stable.

so i redid the entire OC setup, i5 750, asus p7p55d-e pro, and some ripjaw f3

well not entire sure why yet, but i never could get the system 100% stable untill i started messing with all the voltages :

Blck : 200
multi : 19
ram : 1600mhz
cpu v : 1.3875v
IMC : 1.3v
ram : 1.5125(rated for 1.5)
PLL : 1.8625v
PCH : 1.1 (i think)
Max temps : 66C

untill i raised the imc/pll/pch to those lvl it never passed the 1.5 hour mark on prime without 1 of the cores getting an error. with those settings its been going on 3.5 hours (hoping it good this time)

but ive noticed something odd, ive never seen befor, Core 3 of the CPU is lagging behind the rest, its 4 minutes behind the 3 other cores (also noticed with all the testing that the core is 75-80% of the time the 1 that will get the error too). the other 3 cores are on test 10, while its on 7. runing a small TTF.

is it normal?
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 04:44 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Had the same thing happen to me with a q9550. One core was unstable. You'll just have to find a speed, blck and voltage where the core becomes stable. It sucks to only have one core holding you back doesn't it? You could also take out 2 sticks of ram and try testing again and see if the core is still unstable.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 04:55 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

its annoying to say the least. its not giving me any error's in prime so far thought witch i find weird, just seem's a bit slower then the other 3

been reading a bit more, got a few options i can try to play with, CPUZ is still showing me 1.312 on the core V.

gona let prime go for a few more and see what happens.
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Core i5 750 Quad Core System + 23" Asus LED Monitor + Logitech X-230 Speakers $1000 Yamcha Buy/Sell & Trade 7 March 14, 2010 10:18 AM
Core i5 750 vs Core 2 duo E8500 TheCoon CPU's and Motherboards 9 November 30, 2009 08:10 PM
Core 2 duo E6400 vs Core I5 750 Pidg76 CPU's and Motherboards 18 October 7, 2009 05:05 PM