Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2008, 08:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Angry GA-P35-DS3L & e2180

Hey All.

I have a issue with my mobo. GA-P35-DS3L with e2180 and i can't oc. Bios Version F8a.

I tried to change "CPU Host Clock Control" to Enabled, without even changing FSB(default 200) and save. On next boot i get to flash screen and then it restarts again with changed CPU Host Clock Control back to Disabled.
Maybe is this a memory problem.
I got: Geil 2GB (2 x 1GB) 800MHz DDR2 and also OCZ Platinum 1GB DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-15 ATI.

Any1 else same issue? Or any help whoul'd be appreciated.

Thanx.

Last edited by kasim; March 10, 2008 at 07:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 05:00 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

Not sure if it makes a difference, but I refrain from mixing brands, and I always try to do everything in pairs when it comes to memory (2x1gb, 4x1gb is 2 pair etc).

Try with your Geil set by itself, and try with your OCZ set. Maybe we can isolate the issue that way.

What Bios version are you using? (should say on the first POST screen)
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 07:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cipher View Post
Not sure if it makes a difference, but I refrain from mixing brands, and I always try to do everything in pairs when it comes to memory (2x1gb, 4x1gb is 2 pair etc).

Try with your Geil set by itself, and try with your OCZ set. Maybe we can isolate the issue that way.

What Bios version are you using? (should say on the first POST screen)
Bios F8a.
Later today, i'll try only One brand memory.

Thanx Mr. Cipher.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 07:50 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

If that doesn't work, we may want to try changing to a different bios since the bios you are using is a beta bios.

We'll wait for that though. Let me know how things go and we'll get it fixed!
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 12:13 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Newbie question:
There shouldn't be any issue running the E2180 at 8X400FSB should there? I couldn't get a stable 10x320 so I tried 8x400 and it seems to be pretty stable.
The only odd thing seems to be that when I am browsing the web I get alot of stale connections... ie: When I click a link I get a "Connecting to etc.etc.com" but nothing happens until I do a reload and then it works. It's not with every link I press but the same link can sometime work and then not. It doesn't seem to be site related either. Could this be due to some problem with the overclock and the on board PCI-E realtek ethernet on the Gigabyte DS3L?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 04:24 PM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

I found when I overclock and programs are slow to respond, when I increase the northbridge (called G(MCH) in the BIOS) voltage or FSB voltage by one tick, it usually helps. Since you are running at such a high frequency (400), it could very well be that the FSB or northbridge needs a little extra juice to process all the information.

I can't say too much about the ethernet on the mobo since I have not heard, nor specifically looked for, issues with it.

As for running at those speeds, the only issue I can think of would be the extra heat, but if you have any cooling at all (aftermarket HS for the CPU, or case fans) you should be ok. Also, the 400 FSB will be great for any ddr2 800mhz memory, since it will run in a 1:1 ratio with the CPU.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 06:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default 2.71

i only managed to do 2.71ghtz

even 0.01 more and windows did not even start
above 2.81 the temp went up already in the bios monitor 1celsius / 15 second
i just for the hell of it tried 3.00 = i was not even to go to bios, it froze about 4 seconds in to power on
how even on 2.71 temperature is identical then the stock 2.00 (38celsius)

use stock fan, stock voltage
mobo = ashrock 775dual-vsta

Last edited by siiix; March 19, 2008 at 06:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BALISTX Intel E2180 Overclock BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 28 February 24, 2008 11:39 PM
temp. monitoring utilities and e2180 nikitos Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 15, 2008 01:12 PM
donimo's e2180 o/c log donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 19 January 13, 2008 03:09 PM
Overclocking P4 1.8 Kassela Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 27, 2007 11:28 AM
ThermalTake Armor 8003 experiences anyone? S|nApSE Cases 12 May 29, 2007 05:52 PM