Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 11:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default Help, NEW PC Low Performance

My rig:
Core 2 duo e6550 2.33ghz
2gb Crucial xs at 4-4-4-12-2
P5n-e sli motherboard, 0505 bios
Sparkle 8600GT 512MB,
150gb 7200rpm seagate drive (80% free)/ external USB 2.0 180gb, 5% free)
SB Audigy
500w PSU

Downloaded what i think are the latest drivers..

I have tweaked the OS to have barely any services. I uninstalled my virus scanner.
Defragged the hard drive.

Turned off AA and the like...

Still getting 3200 on 3dmark, people with same system specs are getting almost twice that!?

I dont see any heating problems.. Any help is greatly appreciated, I REGISTERED TO POST ONCE!!!

Thanks again...
mew

Last edited by mewbomb; October 31, 2007 at 12:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 11:30 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

What OS are you running? XP or Vista?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 11:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
What OS are you running? XP or Vista?
XP SP2
All updates
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 12:59 PM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

If that is the 8600GT I think it is, it's 512MB of DDR2 RAM on it, which is slower then the GDDR3 (Obviously). Although I don't think it would lead to that much of a performance drop.
__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 01:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moneyless View Post
If that is the 8600GT I think it is, it's 512MB of DDR2 RAM on it, which is slower then the GDDR3 (Obviously). Although I don't think it would lead to that much of a performance drop.
yes, it is.. and yes, i dont think THAT much of a perf drop... my confusion continues...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 01:32 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,351

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mewbomb View Post
My rig:
Core 2 duo e6550 2.33ghz
2gb Crucial xs at 4-4-4-12-2
P5n-e sli motherboard, 0505 bios
Sparkle 8600GT 512MB,
150gb 7200rpm seagate drive (80% free)/ external USB 2.0 180gb, 5% free)
SB Audigy
500w PSU

Downloaded what i think are the latest drivers..

I have tweaked the OS to have barely any services. I uninstalled my virus scanner.
Defragged the hard drive.


Turned off AA and the like...

Still getting 3200 on 3dmark, people with same system specs are getting almost twice that!?

I dont see any heating problems.. Any help is greatly appreciated, I REGISTERED TO POST ONCE!!!

Thanks again...
mew
xp, ok how many services are you running if it is tweaked as much as mine I have ( right now with Firefox peerguardian2, Sygate firewall,thunderbird email, clocktray skins and process explorer) I have a total of 20 process's when I am online gaming or testing I have at the highest 15 process's running so I would check your process's again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 01:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,892

My System Specs

Default

Try out the 0608 BIOS. I find it to be the best one.

Get the latest NVIDIA drivers direct from Welcome to NVIDIA - Graphics Cards, Motherboards, Notebooks, Desktop PCs
You want it for your graphics and chipset.

Otherwise, that's just how it performs. All the reviews I find are of the GDDR3 version and not the DDR2 version. From quick reading, it seems like the DDR2 version is alot slower than the GDDR3 version.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 03:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Try out the 0608 BIOS. I find it to be the best one.

Get the latest NVIDIA drivers direct from Welcome to NVIDIA - Graphics Cards, Motherboards, Notebooks, Desktop PCs
You want it for your graphics and chipset.

Otherwise, that's just how it performs. All the reviews I find are of the GDDR3 version and not the DDR2 version. From quick reading, it seems like the DDR2 version is alot slower than the GDDR3 version.
yea, how do i do that, i only see my chipset and graphics, how do i flash the bios, and where do i get it from?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 03:42 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Look to the left of the page it will explain how to update your bios.
If you have any questions just shoot.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 04:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Look to the left of the page it will explain how to update your bios.
If you have any questions just shoot.
ok, how do i do this? should i do this???

Looks like my cpu isn't supported until this version!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS gaming performance. Jim O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 October 5, 2007 10:06 AM
500 Mhz more=how much more gaming performance?! bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 September 28, 2007 10:22 AM
-12v Rail and Poor Performance kcksteve Troubleshooting 11 September 9, 2007 08:08 PM