Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 5, 2010, 05:19 PM
Rookie

Default Advice or Comments on OC

Im new to this forum and pretty Green at OC. First this is what I have, i7 975 Extreme, Gigabyte X58-UD7(f6) Corsair Dominator 1600 tri-channel 6 gigs. Anyways like I said I'm pretty new at this and wanted to OC it from 3.33 to 4.0 on air (coolmaster 520n hyper). I went the easy route and decided to use the unlocked multiplier because I was not really sure about base clock stuff. This is all I touched in the BIOS

Multiplier 30 - brings it to 4ghz
Performance Enhanced - Set to Standard
System Memory Multiplier - Set to 12.0 to bring my RAM to 1600mhz
Memory Timings - Set my timings to 8-8-8-24 which what it is rated for, did not touch any other timings

These are some of the advanced CPU settings Im really not sure what to enable or disable but this is what I set.

Intel Turbo Boost - Disabled
CPU Cores - Enabled
CPU Multi Threading - Enabled
CPU Enhanced Halt C1E - Disabled
C3/C6/C7 State Support - Disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor - Enabled
CPU EIST Function - Disabled
PROCHOT - Enabled

As for the Voltages the only ones I changed are

CPU Vcore 1.3125 - any lower and I can't boot up
DRAM Voltage 1.60 - my RAM says to set 1.65 but its stable @ 1.60

Thats all I messed around with, I ran prime95 for an hour and the highest temp my cpu hit was 69, now I pretty much just use this rig for my Flight Simulator X, and the temp never went over 55 @ 4ghz. What I want to know is does anyone see any real flaws with how I OC'ed. Would anyone suggest pushing my CPU up to 4.20 on AIR, any advice, links suggestions would be appreciated.
Old April 6, 2010, 07:40 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

A 1 hour test is nothing near enough. Eight to twelve is good. But imo still not enough.