Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2010, 02:15 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Default Need help overclocking my Core i5 750 and Gigabyte P55A-UD3

Hi guys, I'm currently using a Core i5 750, Gigabyte P55A-UD3, and 2x2GB G.Skill DDR3 12800. The heatsink used is the Thermalright Ultima 90. IIRC, temperature is hovering in the 28C to 30C range.

Right now speed is at default. Ultimately I would like to do 4ghz on air if possible. However, I know nothing is ever guaranteed so I guess I'll have to raise the clock speed carefully.

IIRC, stock speed is at 2.66ghz. My first goal is to try 3.5ghz. Can someone tell me what settings I should use in the BIOS to increase the chance of hitting 3.5ghz? I would prefer tight timings, but it's not necessary. What voltages should I try using? After overclocking the system, I plan to use Prime95 for stability test and hopefully things will pan out.

Thx for the help in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2010, 11:05 AM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

Linus has a guide on i5 OvCkg w GA MB
P55A-UD3 M.I.T. is virtually the same.
btw, for 3.5ghz w an i5 on the GA P55A-UD3, you don't even need to manually udjust the CPU volts.
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2010, 02:07 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

+1 for monster. You can drive your cpu at 3.5 with a hand clap. 4Ghz is more a challenge but it's trully possible. For the setting, follow linus and then just get them higher to get to 4Ghz. But! never forget to look at the Intel maximum power for your CPU.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 03:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Default

Ok so I did a bit more research on this matter and tried to do an initial overclock to 3.4ghz. It booted to the desktop without any issues. I loaded up Core Temp program and it displayed the CPU temperature in the mid-80s for all cores. I was surprised by the temperatures, but I thought maybe it's inaccurate. I decided to run Prime 95 and then temperatures skyrocket to 99C for all 4 cores. Prime 95 was still chugging along without any issues so I decide to go and clean one of my LCDs behind me. Then just out of the blue, the PC just shuts down. It literally powered off.

Initially, I thought maybe it was resetting because the system was unstable, but it really shut down. Nothing turned on as I waited 1 min. I pressed the power button, reaccessed the BIOS, go back to defaults, then booted to the desktop without any issues. I was relieved that nothing went bad. I decided to Prime 95 the machine at default settings just to make sure everything is ok and everything went without a hitch.

Last edited by lsquare; April 9, 2010 at 04:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 02:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Hi, I also have a i5-750 and a Gigabyte motherboard. I had the same problem with high temperatures in overclocking over 3600 - 3800 MHz.
I am also interested to keep my computer alive for a long time that's why I stopped with it at 3320 Mhz and with low power consumption, as it is known that keeping your computer running at high voltages for everyday use, it greatly shorten it's life.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 02:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I posted a full review of my new overclocked system here silentpcreview.com | View topic - Core i5-750 system mild overclocking cool low power PC with all settings explained including BIOS screenshots. My temperatures right now never go over 60 C.

Your computer shuts down because you reached a very high temperature thus the self defense mechanism of the CPU shut down the system in order to protect CPU from burning.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 08:11 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 367

My System Specs

Default

I Personnally could not get it past 3.83 ghz on my 750 / UD2. As I don't need such an overclock I got it back to 3.6ghz with power saving options enabled. but somehow my 750 did need voltage bump to reach clock speeds of 3.5/3.6 which disapointed me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte p55a USB3 Speedstep Problem AdoP Troubleshooting 4 March 23, 2010 03:12 PM
Major differences between Gigabyte P55A-UD4P and UD3? lsquare CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 3, 2010 04:02 PM
Help overclocking my Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 Nateiscool Troubleshooting 12 December 22, 2009 09:52 PM