Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 09:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default Overclocking + Temperatures

Hey all! I'm new to the forums and quite new to overclocking.

Anyways, I purchased my computer rig last week and I decided to overclock this bad boy. I'm using a i7-920 with a Gigabyte EX58-Extreme with the Coolermaster V8. I ran into a little problem and hopefully it can be solved.

I tried to overclock right off the bat, but it kept failing so I decided to flash my BIOS with the latest drivers from Gigabyte's website. Before I flashed it, I opened up SpeedFan and my CPU read 33C (idle). I flashed the BIOS, and immediately checked my CPU temperature in BIOS, it was idling at 45C!!!

So I booted it up to Windows and checked my temperatures just to make sure, and it was still 45C. I still decided to overclock and I successfully overclocked it to 3.3GHz (stable) and tested it with Prime95 for an hour. My temperatures were: CPU: 59, and cores were hitting around 70C.

Even at stock, the temperatures still read CPU: 59, and cores hitting around 70C. So I know for a fact the overclocking to 3.3GHz isn't causing this temperature increase. Could it be that the latest BIOS version enabled a specific option that is raising my temperature?

*All my temperatures stayed the same (motherboard, hard drive, video card) but the North Bridge*
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 10:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

First of all, I recommend that you use Real Temp to monitor your temperatures instead.

It is a well known property of the temperature sensors used in Intel CPUs that they provide less accurate readings the farther away from Tjmax the temperature is. For your CPU, Tjmax is roughly 100C, so at idle, the values you see will not be very accurate at all. Load temperatures on the other hand are generally fairly trustworthy, so you can be confident in those results.

Basically, you really don't need to worry about it. Chances are that whether you see 33C or 45C, the reading isn't even correct, and even more importantly, if it is correct, it still doesn't really matter, since the only thing you ever have to worry about is the maximum temperature of your CPU, not the minimum.

Another possibility I just realized is that the new BIOS may have disabled the CPU's power-saving features like C1E and EIST. That could also conceivably cause an increase in temperature at idle. Take a look in your BIOS and make sure those are enabled, and if not, enable them and then check your idle temps again to see if they have gone down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 10:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
First of all, I recommend that you use Real Temp to monitor your temperatures instead.

It is a well known property of the temperature sensors used in Intel CPUs that they provide less accurate readings the farther away from Tjmax the temperature is. For your CPU, Tjmax is roughly 100C, so at idle, the values you see will not be very accurate at all. Load temperatures on the other hand are generally fairly trustworthy, so you can be confident in those results.

Basically, you really don't need to worry about it. Chances are that whether you see 33C or 45C, the reading isn't even correct, and even more importantly, if it is correct, it still doesn't really matter, since the only thing you ever have to worry about is the maximum temperature of your CPU, not the minimum.

Another possibility I just realized is that the new BIOS may have disabled the CPU's power-saving features like C1E and EIST. That could also conceivably cause an increase in temperature at idle. Take a look in your BIOS and make sure those are enabled, and if not, enable them and then check your idle temps again to see if they have gone down.
Great! Thank you for the fast response.

I'll downloaded RealTemp and use that for my primary temperature monitor. I will enable those two settings tomorrow morning and get back to you.

Is it a problem to have my cores around 70C with Prime95? I ran it before flashing the bios and the highest temperature I had over a 24-hour period was 63C. Thanks for all your help :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 10:53 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

imo 70c under full load, although fine, does seem a little high for 920 @ 3.2 Ghz......which TIM did you use and how much did you apply?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 10:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I used AS5 with a thin line down from the middle (2/3 of the CPU). I'm positive it isn't my thermal paste because I was reaching 28-33C idle depending on room temperature. All the sudden right after I flash my BIOS it jumps to 45C - so I'm almost positive it's a setting.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 11:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Okay I just downloaded RealTemp and my temperatures are : 45 45 43 43.

I just checked the BIOS and C1E and EIST are both enabled. I even decided to bring my multiplier down to 20 from 21, and my BCLK from 160 to 133. Still the same temperatures Does anybody have any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 10:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

drop your voltage too?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 04:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocklobster View Post
Okay I just downloaded RealTemp and my temperatures are : 45 45 43 43.

I just checked the BIOS and C1E and EIST are both enabled. I even decided to bring my multiplier down to 20 from 21, and my BCLK from 160 to 133. Still the same temperatures Does anybody have any other ideas?
It sounds like stuck sensors to me. Don't worry about it. Like I said before, load temperatures are what you need to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 05:01 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the forums. Load is all that matter as zero has stated good luck on the oc
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 11:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I flashed my BIOS to the latest version and here are my temperature readings:

CPU: 38-39C
Cores: 38 38 35 35

I researched and the BIOS version I had before was off by 5-7C, and these are my correct readings. Still pretty high for a aftermarket heatsink (V8) with a HAF 932. I also added two new 120mm (Coolermaster Red LED) fans but ran into a problem. The holes on the fan aren't threaded, so I had to muscle in the screens. A lot of vibration is being produced (my table is vibrating :@) and I think it's the bottom 120mm I mounted beside the PSU. Does anybody have any idea what I should do?

Also, I'm planning to return the V8 for a H50. I'll be using the Coolermaster 120mm fan, followed by the radiator, and the Corsair stock H50 120mm fan - would that be okay?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are these temperatures ok? what can I do to lower them? mtrpcic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 October 19, 2009 11:53 AM
Are these temperatures ok? what can I do to lower them? mtrpcic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 October 19, 2009 10:38 AM
Q9550 Temperatures lKashl Troubleshooting 6 July 9, 2009 11:32 AM
What temperatures are your HDD? Silvgearx Storage 10 January 31, 2009 03:33 PM
How to measure temperatures? kav Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 November 19, 2008 06:17 PM