Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 03:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Question Need help with Q9550+P5Q pro

I have a Q9550 and I tried to overclocked it to past 4ghz but I'm stuck at 3.8ghz (447 * 8.5). My ex E8600 was able to reach 4.3 ( 4.4 was ok but a little too hot...)

I cranked up all voltage in my mobo without exeeding the yellow zone but I can't get it stable.

the vcore was at 1.35 (tried 1.45....)
the fsb was 1.3 -1.4
nb 1.3(tried 1.5)
pll 1.68(tried 1.76)
ram 2.12(tried 2.2)

DRAM Frequency: ~1066Mhz
CAS# Latency: 5
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5
DRAM RAS# Precharge: 5
DRAM RAS# Activate to Precharge: 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : 4
Row Refresh Cycle Time: 60
Write Recovery Time: 6
Read to Precharge Time: 5
READ to WRITE Delay (S/D): 10
Write to Read Delay (S): 4
WRITE to READ Delay (D): 5
READ to READ Delay (S): 6
READ to READ Delay (D): 6
WRITE to WRITE Delay (S): 5
WRITE to WRITE Delay (D): 6
WRITE to PRE Delay: 14
READ to PRE Delay: 6
PRE to PRE Delay: 1
ALL PRE to ACT Delay: 6
ALL PRE to REF Delay: 6
DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
DRAM Read Training: Auto
MEM. OC Charger: Auto
AI Clock Twister: Lightest
AI Transaction Booster: Manual
Common Performance Level: 9
Pull-In of CHA PH1: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH2: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH3: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH4: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH1: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH2: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH3: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH4: DISABLE

If someone here can give me a hand with that
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 03:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

drop multi and see whats the max fsb the cpu can take under ANY condition :)


and 3.8 is very good for the cpu, on air i presume?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 03:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
drop multi and see whats the max fsb the cpu can take under ANY condition :)


and 3.8 is very good for the cpu, on air i presume?
ok thank you
I'll try it.
do you think I should put it at 6x and let the voltage as they are now, or put back the default voltage ?

yes on air. Xigmatech 1283 with a scythe kaze 200rpm + the original fan on push pull
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 07:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Is it a C1 or E0 chip? If it's a C1, you can pretty much forget about getting past 3.8GHz.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 05:31 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Is it a C1 or E0 chip? If it's a C1, you can pretty much forget about getting past 3.8GHz.
True. My C1 makes it to 3,825mhz max.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 06:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

its a E0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 07:48 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

My trusty Q9550 C1 doesn't go past 3.8GHz on my P5Q pro (rig in sig). Vcore is 1.264V, FSB 450.
It's rock-steady there...

Well, it does reach 4.0GHz for benchmarking runs, but always has a "failing worker" in Orthos after a few minutes.

I haven't tried to reach 4.0GHz in a long time, as this CPU is pretty good at 3.8GHz. I would love to be part of the 4.0GHz club!!! But my 20 000 3dmarks 06 score with ONLY a GTX260 C216 OC is satisfactory (until I get the itch for FERMI if worth it).
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; March 15, 2010 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 10:51 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
True. My C1 makes it to 3,825mhz max.
Yours, mine, and everyone else's ;). I've never seen anyone break 3.825GHz on a C1 Q9550 as far as stable overclocks are concerned. I've run mine at 4GHz before, but nothing I did would make it pass Linpack.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 05:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

ok so I did some test, and it doesnt boot past 465fsb........
maybe it's the MB.....
anyway, thx all for your help, but I think I'll stay at 3.8
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 08:34 AM
MarcusFoX's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 550
Thumbs up

for 4ghz set these up first

drop the performance level to 10..

take off static dram read
Take of OC charger.

vcore set it 1.425

adjust the pll between 1.5v and 1.6v

I found that fsb and NB voltage respond the best for me keep the FSB between 1.32-1.425v and the NB between 1.3825v and 1.5v.

after this is dont find you max stable fsb for that setup its different with every board and chip combo there all unique. normally with asus p45 setups it
its around 501... I got my M2F to around 495 24/7 stable but need huge pll/ fsb to do it.
remember for stablity Memory compatibility and Voltage will play a big roll with you OC since s775 quads are very dependant on the memory. try a memory voltage if nothing else works of 2.3v and see if that gets it stable. only use this as a last resort since you'll need passive cooling with anything past this with ddr2.

do some bios research as well find out which bios works the best for others.
__________________
2x L5639 Xeons @ 3.6ghz Noctua NH-D14 cooled stable 24/7 | EVGA Classified SR-2 | 3x2GB 12GB Mushkin Triple Channel Memory | 2x GTX 570 SLI | 120GB OCZ Vertex 3/3TB Seagate | Enermax Platimax 850w | NZXT Switch 810 White | Windows 7 Ultimate | Samsung 40" LCD HDTV
A+ NET+ Linux+ LPIC-1 MCP MCTS MCSA MCITP
World of Tanks WGLNA
CSGO ESEA
Heatware: MarcusFoX

Last edited by MarcusFoX; March 16, 2010 at 08:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] P5Q pro and 8400 e0 Phillie Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 29, 2009 08:24 PM
Linux on P5Q-Pro anyone? The MAX O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 February 13, 2009 09:28 AM
P5Q-PRO Build element291 New Builds 7 January 20, 2009 01:51 PM
p5q pro n0rd1c CPU's and Motherboards 1 November 22, 2008 11:49 AM
P5Q Pro and Q9550 questions Zeroman_IR Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 October 30, 2008 04:27 AM