Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 01:11 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default 4ghz i7 860

Since ive gotten my watercooling loop to work properly, I thought I would start a thread to discuss i7 860 overclocking.
Settings
Vcore - 1.381
VTT - 1.36
DRAM - 1.68
PLL -dont remember, will update when im done playing with P95
PCH - 1.28

200 x 20 = 4ghz
DDR3 crucial 1333mhz @ 2ghz 9-9-9-24 1T

I would run OCCT on it, but for some odd reason its reading my power supply sensors wrong and promptly stops.

__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.

Last edited by Fudd Rucker; February 26, 2010 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 01:27 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Nice, I don't know if I'll be able to cool the voltage I'll need for 4GHZ on the 860 that I have in the mail but I like the ram overclocks. Is there any 2x1GB or 2x2GB kit that is cheap and can hit 1500-1600mhz at similar timings? Mainly looking for a deal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 02:08 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

Crucial CT12864BA1339.M8FF
Crucial 1GB DDR3 PC3-10600 1333MHz Unbuf NO-ECC Desktop - eBay (item 260555259907 end time Mar-20-10 03:00:54 PDT)


Thats the exact model of memory i have. Its a 4 x 1gb kit. Thinking about about throwing a pair of 2 x 4gb sticks in this machine to bring my total up to 12gb. About 10pm tonight I am going to bump up the multi to x21 and see about 4.2ghz and see if that will prime. Once I get my new radiator im expecting much better temps. Im wondering, what block is better - GTZ or EK supreme LT acryllic. I have both, but no 1156 mounting hardware for the GTZ and would like to use it since i bought it new and havent yet.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.

Last edited by Fudd Rucker; February 26, 2010 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 06:57 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

did you use a backplate on the LT ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 07:02 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Post a screenshot of OCCT and the error that you're getting.

As for voltages, software reading for PSU voltages don't matter. What matters is the Vcore.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 08:46 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

OCCT crashes on me even on stock settings. Its giving me a voltage error on the 12v psu line. No didnt use the back plate with waterblock, but once i find one ill be rocking.Went through 8 hours of priming zero issues. Going to start the summit towards 4.5ghz once I get the new radiator.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 08:49 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudd Rucker View Post
OCCT crashes on me even on stock settings. Its giving me a voltage error on the 12v psu line. No didnt use the back plate with waterblock, but once i find one ill be rocking.Went through 8 hours of priming zero issues. Going to start the summit towards 4.5ghz once I get the new radiator.
Hmmm can you somehow set OCCT to ignore the 12V PSU line? That definitely doesn't sound good... Maybe the others know what to do in your situation...

Prime95 for 8 hours isn't enough imo. I'd recommend 12 hours.... but that's me. You may also want to try Intel Burn Test though I find the program completely stupid and useless.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 08:55 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

I only did an 8 hour prime to establish some form of stability and I can start pushing from here, working bit by bit. Ya i set OCCT to ignore my psu voltage, but didnt work at all. Here is a shot of the graph that showed my error. All of my errors are teh exact same as well. And im assuming that Prime95 should be sufficient for stability testing.

__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2010, 12:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
Posts: 117
Default

What kind of watercooling setup are you running?

At 1.352v Vcore and 1.25v IMC/VTT I'm getting around 70C with Venomous X + 2x NF-P12 and this is only at 185 x 21. Somehow I was hoping better results from a WC build running 200x20
__________________
My Desktop
Fractal Design XL
ASUS P6X58D-E
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4GHz
Corsair HX750
Corsair H70 + 2x Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850RPM
G.Skill 6GB DDR3 F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ RAM 9-9-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 570
120GB OCZ Vertex 2
640GB Western Digital Black
Logitech Z-4 2.1 Speakers
Steelseries 6GV2 + Razer Mamba
BenQ 24" E2420HD LCD
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2010, 12:35 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

My loop is in my sig. The achilles heel so to speak of my loop is the piss poor radiator. Ive had to throw a lot of volts at this chip to get it to clock this high. It wont budge over 4.2ghz either no matter the voltage. So Im quite content with 4ghz 24/7 OC. Will get getting a new radiator this weekend hopefully to improve temps greatly.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 4ghz :D vagnaar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 16, 2010 12:41 PM
i5 750 @ 4ghz Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 16, 2009 11:56 AM
P6T i7 920 3.4GHz??? sinticfury Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 20, 2009 07:57 PM
OC E7200 from 3.73Ghz to 4Ghz geokilla Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 3, 2009 01:04 PM
The Magic 4GHz NyteOwl Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 September 8, 2008 06:46 PM