Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 11:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default Can't overclock XFX HD 5850 Stock?

Hi guys,

I can't seem to overclock my XFX HD 5850 stock using the AMD GPU Clock Tool. I had increased the memroy clock from 1000 to 1150, but when I tried running Furmarks, the program freezes after a few seconds and then the whole screen changes into vertical bars, leaving me with no choice but to reset the computer. It should be noted that running Furmarks in stock clock or clocked using ATI CCC is flawless.

I was under the impression that this card was easily overclocked. Maybe I should stick with the Overdrive in ATI CCC?

EDIT: included steps that I followed and events that occurred during failed overclock.

1. Ran furmarks at stock clock for 5 minutes to warm up gpu
2. Keeping furmarks open+running, I opened AMD GPU Clock Tool, set memory clock to 1150, then clicked set clocks
3. System froze. I reset
4. Went back to AMD GPU Clock Tool, set memory clock again to 1150, THEN opened furmark.
5. Furmark's stability test ran for a couple minutes, but noticed random stuttering (random screen freezes), until finally entire computer froze.

Please note that the ATI CCC was running in the background. I tried redoing the whole process with CCC disabled, but the results were the same.

For now, I've settled for using CCC's overdrive feature, but I've increased the fan speed through CCC to 40%. I'd like to use MSI Afterburner to set a range of fan speeds, but as soon as I close Afterburner, CCC seems to override it.

Last edited by mike.mgs4; February 21, 2010 at 12:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:33 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,651
Default

1150 is a substantial overclock for the memory. Overclocking is an inexact science and results can differ from sample to sample.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
1150 is a substantial overclock for the memory. Overclocking is an inexact science and results can differ from sample to sample.
True. I'm most likely going to stick with CCC Overdrive. It's just a bit disappointing considering that everyone I talked to about this card says it's very good for overclocking. At any rate, even without overclocking, my games run flawlessly. (DA:O @ 1680 x 1050 with everything maxed out, even aa)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

A card being a good overclocker doesn't mean you can overclock it without abandon. You have to go up gradually until you reach the card's limits, and then back down to a stable speed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:48 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Memory overclocking usually won't be as high as a GPU core OC. 1150 would be a sweet overclock if it was stable, like SKY said (kind of lol). Why not just drop it down to 1125 and try that?? Even 1100 would be good. Aren't you going to overclock the core? You'll see more FPS from Core clocks anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
A card being a good overclocker doesn't mean you can overclock it without abandon. You have to go up gradually until you reach the card's limits, and then back down to a stable speed.
Guess I've learned something new. Just hope I didn't damage the card with the failed overclocks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:54 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
.....I'd like to use MSI Afterburner to set a range of fan speeds, but as soon as I close Afterburner, CCC seems to override it.
you can use after burner with an ATI... I'm going to try right away ...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:58 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
Guess I've learned something new. Just hope I didn't damage the card with the failed overclocks.
Nah, you're fine. But best way to do it is like Zero said and to just gradually up the clocks and run stability tests, and then repeat until it's unstable. Once you get to unstable, back off just a bit then run another stability test.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 01:14 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

my xfx 5870 will not OC a single mhz. not a single one. Ive tried aftergburner, ATI CCC, and AMD overdrive and I cannot get this card to clock anything higher then stock.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 04:53 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudd Rucker View Post
my xfx 5870 will not OC a single mhz. not a single one. Ive tried aftergburner, ATI CCC, and AMD overdrive and I cannot get this card to clock anything higher then stock.
Yeah occasionally you come across video cards, CPUs and memory kits which don't budge a MHz over their specs. Heck, I've even come across memory kits which wouldn't even run at stock specs without extra voltage.

Anyway, I'm afraid there's not much you can do for that video card. Technically, XFX is providing you with a product which DOES function as per the published specs...
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX 5850 @ Newegg 326$ ayah Video Cards 1 December 9, 2009 05:25 PM
[XFX] ATi 5870 iN Stock UK ? >< JORD4N Video Cards 3 November 30, 2009 01:49 PM
XFX Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 33 November 16, 2009 07:57 AM
Xfx 5850 is insanely loud! emanedoc Video Cards 9 October 10, 2009 06:56 PM