Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 08:29 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default EVGA precision and WIN 7 woes

Hi,

I am trying to overclock my GPU on two system. The two GPU are 9800 GX2 and 9800 GT, I installed WIN 7 home on both rigs. I can control is the fan speed and can push the core, ram and shader clock. But It does not register any activity on the GPU while they are folding at 100 %....... I am doubting about the overclock. My drivers are the lastest one, 196.XX

What could I use to validate the OC and activity ? I was thinking about GPUZ ? anything else ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 08:48 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

Download the latest version of Precision or MSI Afterburner and try again.

Also, your GPU can't be under any load when you apply the overclocks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 08:53 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

My evga is the latest version, I'll go for afterburner and see what it gives me. Thanks !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 09:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Halifax
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

Everest will also show GPU activity and clocks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 09:30 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Also, your GPU can't be under any load when you apply the overclocks.
Actually, it can be, although it's not the best idea to change the clocks while the GPU is active.

Also, you can use GPU-Z to check your current speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 09:35 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Actually, it can be, although it's not the best idea to change the clocks while the GPU is active.

Also, you can use GPU-Z to check your current speeds.

Are you sure about that? I just tried to do it the other day while running FurMark and the revised clock speeds weren't registered.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 09:36 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I've done it absent-mindedly a few times while folding, and it definitely worked. It might depend on the application, driver version, specific system, or any number of random things as is typical when dealing with computer stuff though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 11:28 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
My evga is the latest version, I'll go for afterburner and see what it gives me. Thanks !
Make sure your version of Precision is 1.9.1. nVidia broke overclocking with their 196.21 drivers, and EVGA had to release that version to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 11:29 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
But It does not register any activity on the GPU while they are folding at 100 %....... I am doubting about the overclock. My drivers are the lastest one, 196.XX
I'm curious if you Folders are able to use the Precision OSD while Folding, if you can set it up so:
1. Core Clock Speeds appear
2. Utilization of GPU's (%) appears
3. GPU Temps

I alaways have this set up when 'm gaming
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 12:33 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I got the 1.9.1 but It does not show the % of utilisation, it does show the small shaders OC I did, but I was looking to use another source to try and confirm the OC.

I'll take a look at everest, thanks !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eVGA Precision 1.9.1 r0k0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 February 12, 2010 07:08 PM
Win 7 X64 upgrade activation woes GregH O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 December 3, 2009 07:58 PM
EVGA Precision v1.8.0 Update FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 19, 2009 11:04 AM
EVGA Precision 1.5 released Alwaysrun Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 8, 2009 12:16 PM
EVGA Precision - Crysis element291 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 January 28, 2009 04:41 PM