Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 03:42 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default E7200 Overclocking

I'm looking to break the 4Ghz barrier soon so I need some help. My system specs are to the right and my temps top out at around 50C. The VID of my chip is 1.2Vcore, so I'm not sure if that's good or not. I have Vcore set to 1.46V in the BIOS and like the CPU-Z screenshot, I'm getting 1.4V under load. I also have the MCH and FSB voltages set to +0.1V.

Over at Legit Reviews, a member has a E7200 with a VID of 1.15Vcore. He's able to break the 4Ghz barrier though it's not completely stable yet. His voltages are pretty high too. His FSB voltage is at 1.5V, MCH at 1.625V, and has his Vcore set to 1.46V in the BIOS. CPU-Z gives him a readout of 1.15Vcore.



Also, what do you use to keep track of your NB (MCH?) temperatures? I'm using HWMonitor and under Temperatures, it says my System temperature is 35C. I assume that's the NB temperature? What should the max be?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 04:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

I had to put my wolfy as 1.475 in the bios to get 4.2ghz. CPU dependant of course, but maybe you need more juice.

good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 05:13 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Can you confirm that board can handle 425FSB?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 05:42 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Can you confirm that board can handle 425FSB?
Never really spent much time tweaking last time I overclocked, so no clue. I think it can if I played around with the voltages more besides just the Vcore. I actually have no idea what I should set my MCH and FSB voltages to, nor do I got a clue how to check the NB (MCH) temperature.

Dropping the multiplier might help but who knows.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 05:20 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Before I aim for that 4Ghz, anyone know how to keep track of NB temperatures?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 05:47 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

everest if there a sensor for it will show up
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 06:06 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

or in HWmonitor.

the first number should be the chipset temp, second should be CPU and third PWM. I think
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 07:15 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

thank for the info
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 09:35 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
or in HWmonitor.

the first number should be the chipset temp, second should be CPU and third PWM. I think
That's what I thought... It just says System though so I'm not sure if it's the NB or not. I've googled around and there's a high chance it's the NB....

Maybe I'll see if I can throw a fan by the NB or just tape it to the side of the case, and hope the airflow will be strong enough so there's going to be some cool hair hitting the NB.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 07:28 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Just load up prime95 and stress the mem + cpu. If the temp hikes up somewhere between 10C-15C it must be the Chipset/NB temps. But then again it could be the CPU if you have really good cooling
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OC E7200 from 3.73Ghz to 4Ghz geokilla Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 3, 2009 01:04 PM
[FS] EVGA GTX 260 (nib), E7200, Razer AC-1 soundcard Aix Buy/Sell & Trade 10 December 24, 2008 02:50 PM
E5200 vs E7200 miggs78 CPU's and Motherboards 4 October 23, 2008 11:55 AM
Trying to Reach 3.8Ghz on E7200 geokilla Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 September 6, 2008 04:57 PM
E7200 C0vsM0 Stepping question. the_bandit87 CPU's and Motherboards 1 May 29, 2008 11:53 AM