Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2007, 09:55 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Actually I just did some synthetic tests with everest and running 1:1 did yield better performance then when I was not.
were the CPU frequency and RAM frequency/timings the same both at 1:1 and the ratio other than 1:1? there shouldn't be a hit on performance, depending on your motherboard and the ratios used.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2007, 09:57 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
were the CPU frequency and RAM frequency/timings the same both at 1:1 and the ratio other than 1:1? there shouldn't be a hit on performance, depending on your motherboard and the ratios used.
If my cpu and ram were at the same then it wouldn't be 1:1 right?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2007, 10:18 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

i think your missing my point. if you changed a ratio from 1:1 and it made your memory or CPU slower then of course your bandwidth is going to go down. that has nothing to do with what divider/ratio your running at, it is simply because your memory or cpu frequency is slower.

i apologize for the confusion but what you were asking wasn't what i was answering. you are very vague with your questions and statements and i am interpreting things wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2007, 10:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
i think your missing my point. if you changed a ratio from 1:1 and it made your memory or CPU slower then of course your bandwidth is going to go down. that has nothing to do with what divider/ratio your running at, it is simply because your memory or cpu frequency is slower.

i apologize for the confusion but what you were asking wasn't what i was answering. you are very vague with your questions and statements and i am interpreting things wrong.
my main question was that the board I was playing with wouldn't let the memory run any lower than 400mhz and was curious about the 1:1.

My p5n32-e sli board... it has a dead spot from 799mhz to 852mhz and I can't choose any mhz in that area.

Last edited by enaberif; October 6, 2007 at 10:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking help tzetsin Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 41 January 27, 2008 11:05 PM
Overclocking P4 1.8 Kassela Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 27, 2007 11:28 AM
Need help overclocking further Kessler Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 December 5, 2007 05:09 PM
Core2 with 865G Chipset Mutant Build sam101p5 CPU's and Motherboards 16 August 5, 2007 02:57 PM
Penryn 45mn= +40% Core2 Extreme in gaming Shadowed Press Releases & Tech News 15 April 17, 2007 11:43 PM