Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 08:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default Another OC E8400 C0

So... quite new to the OC scene.

Read lots of guides and decided to finally do it since I also recently got the hardware to make sure nothing blows up.

So I made sure the typical things like vcore were not set to auto and I put it on the default which was 1.25v I believe. I changed my FSB to 400 from 333 and my system is running stable at 3.6ghz from prime95 and linx.

However, I'm trying for 3.8 with a 425 fsb and Linx fails on the 3rd run [usually do a 20 run with the max memory available].

So I guess my question is.. where do I go from here?


Thanks!
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 08:33 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,083

My System Specs

Default what cooler

Whats your cooler, What Motherbord, What Memory, OC E8400 Look at this thread
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 08:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

The specs are in my sig, but to repeat...

Intel E8400 (3.6 ghz) w/ CM 212+
Palit HD4850 512mb
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 06:31 AM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by impruv View Post
So I made sure the typical things like vcore were not set to auto and I put it on the default which was 1.25v I believe.
you need to put more vcore for 425mhz fsb
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 06:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

I put it to 1.4v and my cpu at 100% load went to 75 degrees so I stopped the tests...

Guess mine can't go that high :(
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 07:04 AM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by impruv View Post
I put it to 1.4v and my cpu at 100% load went to 75 degrees so I stopped the tests...

Guess mine can't go that high :(
yea you're cooler might not be sufficient. but 75c is acceptable for high load if you ask me. it only a bench session you wont go near those temps when actually using you're computer normally. with my old e8400 i went as high as 85c and it still works like a charm today. BUT dont put more vcore tho. maybe you should consider watercooling instead
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 07:13 AM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

i found my old e8400 overclock compilation it is in excel format. it might help you
Attached Files
File Type: rar e8400 overclock.rar (5.1 KB, 38 views)
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 05:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

so i mean, if it gave me an error on linx; does that mean it's not stable? I mean I see you run so many different tests, some red some green. So when do you consider it 'stable'?
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 12:49 PM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by impruv View Post
so i mean, if it gave me an error on linx; does that mean it's not stable? I mean I see you run so many different tests, some red some green. So when do you consider it 'stable'?
green = stable
red = not stable

i recommande you to use the data sheet only as a reference (guideline) for voltage and frequency. you can use any utility to test the stability. i went with orthos because at that time it was recommended by many but prime 95 or linpack are good aswell
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 06:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Well what I meant by through your file is that, at certain stages you passed orthos, but maybe not prime or vice versa. If it passes one test but not the other, is it still considered stable?
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] L/F E8400 boggtrotter59 Buy/Sell & Trade 15 January 1, 2010 12:21 AM
[WTB] E8400 and up. Skyllz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 October 10, 2009 09:51 AM
OC E8400 DavidDemise Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 August 16, 2008 10:38 AM
E8400 on ? Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 7 May 9, 2008 03:31 PM
are the E8400 out yet? v0maru CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 31, 2008 09:56 AM