Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 01:12 PM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by impruv View Post
Well what I meant by through your file is that, at certain stages you passed orthos, but maybe not prime or vice versa. If it passes one test but not the other, is it still considered stable?
for me it was not considered stable and it is why i used multiple test. if it passes all test then i considered it stable, but thats me. today i only use linpack
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 11:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Okay so linpack it is. I've gotten it to be stable at 3.8ghz now with 1.33 vcore [425x9] going through 20 runs of linpack.
at 430x9 my computer reboots so I'll continue to play around with the voltages. The key was I had to change my timings from 5-4-4-15 to 5-5-5-15 [to jump from 3.6 -> 3.8.

Edit: Temps are at about 62 degrees celsius at 100% load with the stock CM212+ TIM.

I've ordered some IC-7 so...
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 12:00 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

As Finch I also use multiple tests when checking for stability. I now run two tests..LinX 20 - 30 passes Max Memory, if it passes I run an overnight P95 Blend Test. If it passes both I consider it stable.

My old E8400 required 1.45v for 4.05 Ghz stable.....Max Temp was around 68c with a Zalman Cooler. The thing has been running solid for the past 2 yrs.

Quote:
The key was I had to change my timings from 5-4-4-15 to 5-5-5-15 [to jump from 3.6 -> 3.8.
Imo loosening your Timings for such a small FSB increase isn't worth it, you should be able to push up your FSB and leave your Timings alone, mine are 4-4-4-12.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 03:12 AM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by impruv View Post
Okay so linpack it is. I've gotten it to be stable at 3.8ghz now with 1.33 vcore [425x9] going through 20 runs of linpack.
at 430x9 my computer reboots so I'll continue to play around with the voltages. The key was I had to change my timings from 5-4-4-15 to 5-5-5-15 [to jump from 3.6 -> 3.8.

Edit: Temps are at about 62 degrees celsius at 100% load with the stock CM212+ TIM.

I've ordered some IC-7 so...
i would also overclock cpu and memory seperatly meaning that i would put a ratio on the memory so that it is lower speed to make them run at stock speed or lower and then i would overclock only cpu to find out its max fsb. By doing that that you remove the memory from the equation and focus only on cpu and if there is an error in linpack for example then you are sure at 100% it is you're cpu not guessing wich one is the culprit. after that you go on with the memory.
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 08:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Imo loosening your Timings for such a small FSB increase isn't worth it, you should be able to push up your FSB and leave your Timings alone, mine are 4-4-4-12.
Well my rams natural timing is 5-4-4-15 I believe and that wasn't working at 3.8
I changed it to 5-5-5-15 and linx ran fine for 20 passes so I'm not sure =S.

So should I turn it back to 5-4-4-15 and keep playing with voltages etc till linx runs without error?


Quote:
i would also overclock cpu and memory seperatly meaning that i would put a ratio on the memory so that it is lower speed to make them run at stock speed or lower and then i would overclock only cpu to find out its max fsb.
Hmm, I'm not too familiar with the memory ratio and how that works. What should I be doing?
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 03:18 PM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by impruv View Post
Well my rams natural timing is 5-4-4-15 I believe and that wasn't working at 3.8
I changed it to 5-5-5-15 and linx ran fine for 20 passes so I'm not sure =S.

So should I turn it back to 5-4-4-15 and keep playing with voltages etc till linx runs without error?




Hmm, I'm not too familiar with the memory ratio and how that works. What should I be doing?
it depends on the bios of you,re motherboard sometimes the memory ratio will be shown like this 1:1 or 2:10 (like on my i5) sometimes it will simply show the memory speed strap like 667mhz or 800mhz. usualy either both will be near or in memory options in you're bios. use cpu-z to see you,re current memory ratio and for each time you change it.

i dont think you,re default timings are 5-4-4-15 but rather 5-5-5-15 but i might be wrong. i never seen default timings of 5-4-4-15 for ddr2. also if you had to loosing up the timings that means the memory was the culprit and that is mostly why i am telling you to remove the memory from the equation by changing the ratio.

i think it is a good idea if you start by reading lost of guide on overclocking to familiar you're self on overclocking terms and how to.
__________________
If you are an overclocker please come and participate to the HWC Benchmarks Competitions, look for the stickies.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] L/F E8400 boggtrotter59 Buy/Sell & Trade 15 January 1, 2010 01:21 AM
[WTB] E8400 and up. Skyllz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 October 10, 2009 10:51 AM
OC E8400 DavidDemise Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 August 16, 2008 11:38 AM
E8400 on ? Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 7 May 9, 2008 04:31 PM
are the E8400 out yet? v0maru CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 31, 2008 10:56 AM