Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 17, 2010, 06:51 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Default Help Me Overclock My Ram

Hey HWC, I have no experience overclocking RAM, so if I could get your help, that would be awesome. With regards to my current settings, I read somewhere that the frequency of my RAM is the DRAM frequency times two. Since I have DDR3 ram rated at 1600 Mhz, this is seriously running under spec right? Here's an even more noob question: what do all of those numbers mean? I don't need a very specific explanation, but the general gist would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old February 6, 2010, 03:30 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Finally had some time to try overclocking my ram. Instead of 543 MHz for my DRAM, it's now up to 724 MHz. The only thing I had to bump was the QPI voltage; my CPU voltage stayed at 1.1875V and I bumped my QPI voltage from 1.25V to 1.2625V. However, my timings have gone from 6-7-7-16 to 9-9-9-24. Is this bad?

I've also tried to bump it up to 1800 MHz (in the BIOS, it said something like 1814 MHz). However, I haven't had much success. I've tried up to these settings and the farthest I've gotten was almost to the login screen; I see the mouse cursor with the blue circle busy symbol thing, and then it BSoD's on me. I don't know how much higher I can go because the colour of the settings change when I increase the value. I don't know if this is the same for all motherboards, but when I'm in the "safe" voltage range, the text is blue, but when I turn it up higher, it changes to yellow, and it goes to purple when I have, for example, the CPU voltage up at 1.3V.

Frequencies:

BCLK: 181
PCIE: 100
DRAM: 1814
UCLK: auto
QPI: auto

Voltages:

CPU: 1.2625V
PLL: auto
QPI: 1.3V
IOH, IOH PCIE, ICH, ICH PCIE (what are these?): all auto
DRAM: 1.64V

My goal is to maintain the 3.8 ghz OC while having the RAM at 1800mhz