Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 04:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Need Help getting Q9450 3.7Ghz stable

BIOS Version: P07
**System **
CPU Freq, MHz: 3.7 GHZ
FSB Reference Clock, MHz: 460
CPU Multiplier: [8X]
PCle x16-1 & 16-2, MHz: [100]
PCle x16-3, MHz: [100]
SPPc->MCP Ref Clock, MHz: [200]
nForce SPP --> nForce MCP: [5X]
nForce SPP c-- nForce MCP: [5X]
**Spread Spectrum**
CPU Spread Spectrum: [Disabled]
HT Spread Spectrum: [Disabled]
PCle Spread Spectrurn(SPP): [Disabled]
PCle Spread Spectrurn(MCP): [Disabled]
SATA Spread Spectrum: [Disabled]
**FSB & Memorv Config**
FSB - Memory Clock Mode: [linked]
FSB - Memory Ratio: [Sync]
FSB (QDR), MHz: [1850]
Actual FSB (QDR), MHz: 1850
x MEM (DDR2), MHz: 465
Actual MEM (DDR), MHz: 930
P1: [AUTO]
P2: [AUTO]
**Memory Timing Setting**
Memory Timing Setting: [manual]
tCL (CAS Latency): 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 15
Command Per Clock: [2T]
** Advanced Memory Settings **
tRRD: [Auto]
tRC: [Auto]
tWR: [Auto]
tWTR: [Auto]
tFAW: [Auto]
tREF: [Auto]
tRFC:
**System Voltages**
CPU Core: [1.40]
CPU FSB: [1.25]
Memory: [2.1]
nForce SPP: [1.40]
nForce MCP: [1.5]
GTLVREF Lane 0: [Auto]
GTLVREF Lane 1: [Auto]
GTLVREF Lane 2: [Auto]
GTLVREF Lane 3: [Auto]
**CPU Configuration**
Limit CPUlD Maxval: Disabled
Intel Speedstep: Disabled
xPPM Mode: [Native]
CPU Thermal Control: [Disabled]
C1E Enhanced Halt State: [Disabled]
Execute Disable Bit: [Enabled]
Virtualization Technology: [Disabled]
CPU Core 0: [Enabled]
CPU Core 1: [Enabled]
CPU Core 2: [Enabled]
CPU Core 3: [Enabled]


Okay can someone help me now?

Last edited by BabyBalla; January 9, 2010 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 06:38 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

Need your hole system to start.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 06:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

hmm i sorry bout that.

780i FTW q9450 4gb Muskhin em(can reach 1ghz) and mushkin 650w(max of 44amps)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 06:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Default

What Do you have for Cooling ?
What ram timmings ?
What is the Multi for that Chip
Can you post a screan shot from CPUZ with the Main tab Memory tab and SPD tab
__________________
E8400 E0 4275 (66 hours orthos stable) @ 1.38v 50deg load /Xfx 780i / 4 GIGz Balistix 6400 / Corsair 620hx / 8800gt @ 740/1800/1000 / Water Cooling
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 11:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Air, 8x Multi everything else is in first post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 01:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

sell your board get a gigabyte ud3r or ud3p
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 105
Default

Your CPU FSB probably needs to be between 1.28 and 1.36 volts.
Also I find the Trd ram timing to be my bottleneck, every time I loosen it I get a couple hundred extra Mhz of overclockability.
To run 3.8 I need to have it set to 10. Make sure your not overclocking your RAM any more than you have to (I run DDR2800 at 900-950mhz 5-5-5-15).

Having a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P really helps with the overclocking. I can run at 4ghz plus with my q9450 but it diffenently not prime stable until 3.8 to 3.9 at voltages I'm comfortable with.

You bios has a bunch of nforce crap I'm not familiar with though.
.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 10:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

bumped up to 1.32 on FSB and bumbed up on vcore 1.41 still understable but better then last round
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 05:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Your Setting look good .
For now I would take the ram out of the picture and Unlink your ram and run it @ stock till you find your max stable OC on the CPU .

Also set your Ram timmings dont use auto .


By air cooling do you mean stock ? If so i wouldnt expect much more than what you have now . .
__________________
E8400 E0 4275 (66 hours orthos stable) @ 1.38v 50deg load /Xfx 780i / 4 GIGz Balistix 6400 / Corsair 620hx / 8800gt @ 740/1800/1000 / Water Cooling
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stable OC no longer stable? Arinoth Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 December 1, 2009 09:00 PM
AMD Phenom 920 OC 3.7ghz HaDeS Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 November 20, 2009 10:03 AM
AMD 550 unlocked to B50 X4 OC @ 3.7GHz 1.415v canmx120 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 October 2, 2009 09:50 PM
Phenom II 3.7ghz with stock cooling Jonwall Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 25, 2009 11:35 AM
Ultra Liquid Cooling P4 1.7GHz to 5.2GHz BALISTX Water Cooling 2 March 12, 2007 07:16 PM