Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 05:13 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default Core i7 920 'D0' & eVGA X58 SLI LE

Hey guys,

here are my results overcloking my new chip so far, seems like a good chip
SLBEJ B# 3939B100
eVGA X58 SLI LE using BIOS # S71H (latest -11/30/2009)

Pic 1 (05/01/10) : Tried to go for 4ghz yesterday with a quick benchmark (LinX) run to see if it could be stable around those voltage (1.329, varies up to 1.370 when @ 100% load) ; Yes it can, just need better cooling because temps were getting high as you can see!

Pic 2 (06/01/10) : Today I tried to see if running at lower voltage I could still get good results with 4ghz, barely, could only reduce the Vcore by 1 level in the BIOS. So I decided to try @ 3.6ghz with some super low voltage (I'm not used to <1.2V , would flucuate between 1.141 and 1.171 @ 100% load) Good results so far, may need a *little* more power to get it stable; Shows great temps, hope this will get even better with the Venomous X that'll be used with 2 San Aces 3000RPM @ 2000ish RPM, should arrive tommorow or Friday.

More updates to come!

Current settings :
Quote:
BCLK [180]
Clock Ratio [20x]
CPU Uncore [16x]
PCIE [100Mhz]
CPU Vcore [1.13125V]
CPU VTT [+125mV]
CPU PLL [Auto]
QPI Vcore [Auto]
DIMM Voltage [1.65V]
IOH [Auto]
IOH/ICH [Auto]
ICH Vcore [Auto]
Mem. Freq. [2:8] - 8-8-8-24-74-1T
Attached Images
   

Last edited by Lamb; January 7, 2010 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 05:17 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

Once you have it stable go for the big wu!!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 05:28 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Once you have it stable go for the big wu!!
I'd really like to do -bigadv, but the last time I used it, I had to stop it to play MW2, and when I powered it up once I was done killing peoples in 'No Russian' ( I keed I keed! ) the WU had some fatal error and I lost it when it was @ ~96% , ...Simply using -advmethods is much more...convenient? ... to me since I don't have these problems when I just close the VMware client, with more games coming for my lil PS3 and me currently playing Oblivion GOTY I could give -bigadv a chance once stable

Added some numbers to my 1st post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 06:37 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Try fiddling with your CPU VTT, I suspect that it is probably holding your OC back, not your core voltage. Well, that and the Temps
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 07:54 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Double the VTT to +100mV, tho I'll wait tommorow to bench it as I want to be awake if anything goes bad ^_^

And yes the temps are a little high @ 4.0ghz , hope that Thermalright Venomous X with 2 San Aces will make a difference

Last edited by Lamb; January 6, 2010 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 04:28 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

You can safely crank the VTT to 1.3-1.35v without issues. That would be +250/300 on your board. But VTT is fickle. Some processors like lots, others like a bit, and still others dont like any. YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 09:16 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Holy cow, just installed the Venomous X with the 2 uber fans and my temps at idle already dropped by ~13C :O

When I removed the H50 I've seen that the compund wasnt corretly ''placed'', it was all over the chip but was missing some in the middle...that's wierd...oh anyway, I just need to find a way to reduce the speed of the fans because it does way too much noise now ^^
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 05:47 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

So far it's been stable for 3.5hours of LinX @ 3.6ghz, ~65 loops, I'll have it testing for 250 loop to make sure it's stable, should be done by tommorow morning.

The temps went down by quite a notch!

Low 70's > High 50's for 3.6ghz
Low 90's > Mid 70's for 4.0ghz

I'll keep it at 3.6ghz if stable since the voltage is ultra low (1.141, 1.176 @ 100% load)

Thermalright Venomous X @ max pressure (70lbs?) strapped with 2 San Aces @ 2000RPM (quiet! I can stand 3k daytime, not while sleeping tho ^^) good news : No need to sand the base, it's mirror finish and pretty clean!

Using IC7 as TIM using an hybrid between these 2 methods of application to make sure there's TIM everywhere;





Verrrrrry happy with the results so far, will post pics of the final results :D

*Note that I'm not on my computer while typing this, so I can't take SS*
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 06:27 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default FAN speed

Gointo bios undrer moitrting. click on fan speed and smart fan. You can set each fan speeds one each fan header. You may want ot look up this FrozenCPU PMW Y Splitter Cable - FrozenCPU.com

You may want to look into a fan controler. Evga rocks Eleeet will show you fan speeds fore each header.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:34 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
Gointo bios undrer moitrting. click on fan speed and smart fan. You can set each fan speeds one each fan header. You may want ot look up this FrozenCPU PMW Y Splitter Cable - FrozenCPU.com

You may want to look into a fan controler. Evga rocks Eleeet will show you fan speeds fore each header.
This is what I use; http://ncix.com/products/?sku=38017&...facture=Scythe

Sadly got an error after 4h58m19s

I'll bump VTT a little.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] N-Sanity needs a 920, x58, 4890 & DDR3 ! n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 27 January 6, 2010 11:37 PM
[FS] EVGA Classified X58, Corsair Dominator GT 2000MHZ DDR3, Intel Core i7 920 D0 FtGF Buy/Sell & Trade 21 September 22, 2009 12:55 PM
i7 920 on an eVGA X58 SLI LE Mobo Dwayne Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 August 24, 2009 12:02 PM
VR-Zone & EVGA Forums - EVGA X58 SLI Classified - NF200 Monster! zlojack Press Releases & Tech News 26 March 19, 2009 06:05 PM
[FS] FS: My Core i7 stuff (EVGA X58, i7 920, 6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600) S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 41 January 26, 2009 07:35 AM