Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2007, 06:29 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Do y'all agree that he's probably ok with that psu for a while-- not ideal, but it's a good 550.

As for the nb and sb, I saw some pics of what people were finding underneath the ones on the 680i's and it was rediculous how much compound had oozed out around the chips, making a nice warm blanket.

Here's a link for instructions and some of those pics:
http://www.evga.com/community/messag...TOPIC_ID=24455
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2007, 05:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Wow what a mess that putty was. For sure that will be replaced before the new board goes in.

The PSU I'm confident is fine for one Geforce 8800 GTS since there are two pci connectors on that PSU and I'm using only one of them. Only one 80 gig HD, one DVD two 120cm fans plus the water pump. Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2007, 07:24 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

yeah-- those 8800gts cards only use up to 110 watts as opposed to (i think) 160 for the 8800gtx
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2007, 09:55 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

With every new card/board I always reapply the TIM ( thermal Interface Material ) half the time all thats on there is those stupid putty strips ( gak:( ) or its some generic white paste put on by a one armed monkey.
If it's a mobo 90% of the time I replace the NB cooler as most are complete crap.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 12:09 PM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

If you're really scrimping for $$, go with an E2xxx series CPU. My e2180 plays Crysis with no issues, everything high, AA 4x, 1650x1080 resolution. Granted I do have an 8800gtx, but I was in a budget situation so I got the better gpu and scrimped on the cpu.

As I was writing this I noticed you already have the gtx. So nevermind...
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An 8800 for 100$ Is is possible? TwystedMonkey Video Cards 27 March 20, 2008 05:08 PM
8800 GT SSC v. 8800 GT (EVGA) Inhocmark Video Cards 8 February 26, 2008 03:13 PM
AMD answers the 8800 GT... qwerty Rumor Mill 19 November 14, 2007 10:10 PM
Fubarred 8800 GT? enaberif Troubleshooting 0 November 14, 2007 12:16 AM