Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 04:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Default

+1 for 3.8 with 4ghz
__________________
E8400 E0 4275 (66 hours orthos stable) @ 1.38v 50deg load /Xfx 780i / 4 GIGz Balistix 6400 / Corsair 620hx / 8800gt @ 740/1800/1000 / Water Cooling
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 07:24 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 741

My System Specs

Default

Patriot got back to me and told me they do not guarantee their ram speeds outside of packages so if you but 2 packages of 2x2GB (4x2GB total) then they do not guarantee the specked speeds anymore. I guess I won't be recommending their ram anymore to clients.

I have a 2x2GB of Gskill 1066 coming to I will try that and overclock the snot out of my CPU and compare it to the non-overclocked with 8GB and see which I prefer. Look for some of the ram to be available in the BST forums if I do prefer it. Thanks for all your help.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770 (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Intel X25-M 160GB, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 05:28 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 741

My System Specs

Default

Here is the ram I ordered, should be here tomorrow. I will post my results once I have run memtest on them and tried overclocking.

G.SKILL-Products
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770 (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Intel X25-M 160GB, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 04:22 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 741

My System Specs

Default

Got the chip running at 3.6Ghz on the first try with this ram. Did some reading and found lots of people using 4 sticks of this @ 1066Mhz (533) on this board so I am ordering 2 more sticks :)
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770 (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Intel X25-M 160GB, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 12:54 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 741

My System Specs

Default

Running all 4 sticks of Gskill (1066Mhz) at 850Mhz 5,5,5,15 timings at 2.1 volts right now (CPU at 3.6Ghz). Running prime95 to make sure all is good. Looks like the partriot ram didn't like my board. Thanks for everybodies help.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770 (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Intel X25-M 160GB, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More computer trouble gimark Troubleshooting 8 November 16, 2009 03:51 PM
A little networking trouble. biff Networking 9 October 30, 2009 05:54 PM
2 little trouble. martin_metal_88 Troubleshooting 2 October 12, 2009 09:13 AM
Trouble with ridata? 3 of 7 Storage 23 March 25, 2009 04:21 PM
Trouble On The Horizon mo' power Off Topic 0 August 22, 2007 06:51 PM