Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 04:24 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default i5 750 voltage?

Revisiting overclocking my i5, currently 8 hour stable at 200x20, 1.344vcore (rest set to auto) and getting about 75C load temp (prime95 blend) and wanting to see if I can get my temps down any lower well retaining 4 ghz, should I try backing down the vcore more? or is there other voltages I should try and set/reduce?

(Motherboard is a P55-UD4P)

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 04:41 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

so my 65'c for a 200x20 on 1,31 vcore was not a bad temp.. what kind of cooling solution you have ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 04:43 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Noctua NH-U12P SE2 with the stock fans on it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 05:01 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

try slowly step by step to go down to 1,30 , my 1,31 was with the auto mode of an Asus board , they are usually generous
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 07:29 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

It seams to lose stability at 1.30v but is running fine at 1.31, changing the QPI/VTT from anything other then Auto seams to make the system crash, the temperature overall seams to be unchanged for the most part. Could it be I need to remount the HSF? Also I should point out that the ambient temp in the room is 30C, Ambient temp measured in the case (Infrared temp probe) is 42C.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 07:44 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you have a room at 30'c in this time of the year ?... that's explain the difference in temps.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 07:52 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

The room hits 30C without the baseboard heaters on just from my two folding systems running. It drops down to about 14-15C with them off.

*EDIT*

I have made another discovery, I removed the side panel from my ATCS840 and the temps on both video cards and the CPU droped by ~10-15C under load. I am wondering if this is because of the stock cooling setup on the ATCS840 (lots of exhaust but little air intake)
__________________

Last edited by Draex; December 30, 2009 at 08:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 08:18 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draex View Post
Revisiting overclocking my i5, currently 8 hour stable at 200x20, 1.344vcore (rest set to auto) and getting about 75C load temp (prime95 blend) and wanting to see if I can get my temps down any lower well retaining 4 ghz, should I try backing down the vcore more? or is there other voltages I should try and set/reduce?

(Motherboard is a P55-UD4P)

Thanks in advance.
try reseating the cooler. I use the same and at 1.32 vcore 200blk I got around 65 max
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 08:33 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

I am getting 61C on the hottest of the Cores after removing the side panel, should I still try and re-seat the HSF?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 08:49 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

on your cooler master ?.......... 61'c is pretty good.. I will work on the ventilation of the case instead, may be you can add a fan at the bottom of the case. and may be somethink like this on the front bay

NCIX.com - Buy Thermaltake iCage 5.25IN To 3.5IN Aluminum Drive Bay Convertor W/ 120MM Blue LED Fan - A2309 In Canada.

I use those cage on many of my server and PC. I purchase 30 of them when they was at $ 14
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is the best? 750 or 860 MarkOne Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 December 31, 2009 05:40 AM
i5 750 @ 4ghz Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 16, 2009 11:56 AM
I5 750 Problem MikeScott Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 27, 2009 03:05 PM