Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 08:41 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

I dont see why you should have the ram ratio so low, thats 2:6, and x12 on your uncore. Will it not go stable at 2:8 and 16x uncore? If it wont, I guess its possible that you have a really crappy Uncore, but I find that hard to believe since 'stock they run 133x24, and right now you're running 191x12. Something else is at play here if it wont go stable at 191x16

Vcore is fine. 1.28v is still a great voltage for 4ghz. My old chip took 1.3 to hit 4.2 stable, so yours is very reasonable.

As per the QPI vtt, from what Ive seen on the net 1.35 is 'okay'. I would still fiddle with it and see if you can get it lower. I dont think it'll do any lasting damage. Pound out a bigwu over the next 2 days, clock it down one step and try to do another one. *shrug*
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 08:51 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,249

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Alright. I went with stoanee's settings exactly (except one step higher on the vcore). Seems really stable (I ran two 6hr runs of prime, and now folding a bigadv for 24 hours straight. 60c was the top temp I saw). Thanks stoanee and sagath!

Here they are again:
21x191
Dram freq 1149
UCLK freq 2298
QPI link rate 6893
CPU volts 1.28125
CPU PLLv 1.82
QPI/Dram volts 1.35
IOH volts 1.2
ICH volts 1.2
Dram volts 1.64

I highlighted the three settings I had questions about;
- is that dram freq optimal? seems like a pretty big underclock on my Corsair 1600MHZ stuff. I tried a 200x20 to get 4.0 on a larger bus, but it was not go. Is it worth it to mess with this?

- I went with one step higher on the cpu volts. Should be OK I think.

- Is that QPI-Dram setting OK? The bios puts this in the 'red' range of acceptable voltages. I am folding with this chip 24/7.
I had to back my overclock down to 4 ghz as 4.1 was not folding stable.
-The ram settings for Asus seems to be a bit of a challenge to set to 1600, for me anyways. I got it set to 1571 (2:8)
-volts should be good
-according to the Intel site 1.35 v is within spec.

Attachment 8678
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; August 31, 2010 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 09:23 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

You cant get ram on 920's to run at 1600 even unless your BCLK is divisible by whole numbers without fractions, 4/6/8/10/12. RAM freq = BCLK*Multi. Thats why your ram is running at 1571 and not 1600. 191x8.

If you want to get your ram to run at 1600, and still maintain a 4ghz CPU speed, turn off your turbo, and set it to 200x20. Ram Ratio will stay 2:8, as uncore will also stay to 16 or 17x.

I'm sure Chris can get his up to the same freq. I'm 99% sure its just an uncore/bclk ratio issue. And if hes at 191x21, he can do the same and go to 200x20 Turbo off, 2:8 RAM divider, 16/17 Uncore.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 10:07 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,249

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
You cant get ram on 920's to run at 1600 even unless your BCLK is divisible by whole numbers without fractions, 4/6/8/10/12. RAM freq = BCLK*Multi. Thats why your ram is running at 1571 and not 1600. 191x8.

If you want to get your ram to run at 1600, and still maintain a 4ghz CPU speed, turn off your turbo, and set it to 200x20. Ram Ratio will stay 2:8, as uncore will also stay to 16 or 17x.

I'm sure Chris can get his up to the same freq. I'm 99% sure its just an uncore/bclk ratio issue. And if hes at 191x21, he can do the same and go to 200x20 Turbo off, 2:8 RAM divider, 16/17 Uncore.
I will try it when this wu is done.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P6T vs ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 JORD4N CPU's and Motherboards 9 September 10, 2009 12:18 PM
P6T 3.8 to 4.2ghz - voltage difference. MittWaffle Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 August 2, 2009 12:09 PM
Is it possible to overclock without the settings in the bios? andynerd Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 2, 2009 07:30 PM
Voltage settings in Maximus Formula bios? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 13, 2008 10:39 AM
Bad overclock settings? magictorch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 December 2, 2007 12:59 PM