Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 02:20 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default OLD - "PRE" OC questions **RESULTS**

My hardware is listed in my sig below. The Mobo is here, and the E8400 should arrive soon.

I am thinking my Ram may or may not hold me back (it OC'd well with a $60 ECS mobo - over 800mhz with tighter than stock timings, I am excited to have a good board now...)

Would it be a wise idea to relax the timings on the ram, and then try to max freq/speed before trying to oc my CPU? Find out weather or not the Ram can keep up...

Also I would like some opinions on what a "safe" CPU voltage would be for an E8400.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 03:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Before overclocking your ram, you should find the max stable OC on your cpu. As for safe voltage on your cpu, check Intel's website. Safe voltage depends on what type of cooling you'll be using. Excessively high voltages may shorten the lifespan of your components.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 07:59 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

E8400 is a great chip to overclock. Google around, there is tons of settings and advice out there for that chip. I had mine to 4 ghz without breaking a sweat, can't remember the settings though. Don't forget aftermarket cooling, I recommend the Coolermaster Hyper 212+.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 08:18 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,544

My System Specs

Default

And dont worry about your ram so much. You can always just change the FSB:RAM divider to a lower ratio to get your ram to work while your cpu is overclocked
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 09:03 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

This guide isn't really relevant but gives you some procedures on how to isolate each component: "Offical" Overclocking Guide - AMD Socket AM2 - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 09:24 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

You will want new ram if your going to do any real overclocking.

That is PC2-5300 ram which is capable of speeds to 667 or more if possible.

You'll want to pickup a good set of pc2-6400 but with the rising costs of DDR2 memory your best bet would be to look used.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 11:58 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

~ Sagath ~ I understand about the ram divider thingy (lol... Even if I do not sound like I do) I want to OC the h*ll out of my new computer (since I have not been able to OC a CPU in LITERALLY 3 years), and I was unsure if a FSB divider would give me enough options to run the heck out of my new cpu. Also my car has a blown motor, so in the mean time I need to be able to run the sh*t out of something

~ mo' power ~ I know its prefferable to OC the CPU First, but I don't want to chance the ram holding my OC back. I finally have a nice board to OC with, and want to use it! I have an ULTRA 120 Extreme cooler. Had her for a while, but I think it should be plenty addequite for an OC'd e8400.

~ enaberif ~ I know my ram is only 677, But as I said, when running a $60 Value ECS mainboard My ran hit over 800mhz and was STILL able to notticably tighten up the timings (Went from 4-4-4-10 to 3-5-3-8 @ over 800 mhz YEAH the ram likes to run). With a good mobo, The ram may just suprise us all... WHEN I buy new ram would I not be "wasting" my time with 6400? The board supports DDR2 @ speeds upto 1366mhz+ When I upgrade should I not buy something running at ATLEAST 1000mhz? (for best performance)

I also want to see what I can squeeze out of this ram before I buy newer stuff. Plus I won't be able to afford it for a while now. I really should have bought an Engine for my car before fixing my fried comp (fried cpu and mobo )
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 12:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Different boards will take to memory differently so to say you may get the same overclock is a statement you may or may not eat.

You would only need 1000mhz memory if you were really gonna push your 8400 to like 4ghz or more but you'd find that at 4ghz you won't see much more improvement in gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 01:02 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

Well I definitely want to be able to surpass 4ghz even if its only for occasional use / bragging rights / the challenge of it
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 03:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattydies View Post
Well I definitely want to be able to surpass 4ghz even if its only for occasional use / bragging rights / the challenge of it
4ghz on a e8400 is nothing to brag about

4.5+ is
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innovation Cooling 7 Carat Diamond TIM Test results thread *NOW ACCEPTING RESULTS!!* Nademon Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 254 December 14, 2011 08:18 PM
I7 920 OC'ing results so far... rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 February 16, 2009 08:05 AM
First Results, First OC Soultribunal Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 January 31, 2009 07:57 AM
G0 vs B3 X3210 results Cptn Vortex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 October 21, 2007 03:40 PM
oc results so far Jim CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 25, 2007 12:52 PM