Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 09:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
cant change the multiplier on a e8400
You don't need to, since the stock multiplier is already 9.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 10:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belinik View Post
Recently the rig has been slightly slow and decided to try and hold til Feb since I am taking a trip soon. Then I remember a reply when I made my first post here asking for help:

So here I want to try something I've never tried before... OC... The following is my current rig:

CPU - Core 2 Duo E8400
Memory - G. Skill 8000 8gb (4 stick) @ 5-5-5-15 2.0v
Motherboard - Asus P5Q Pro
GPU - XFX Radeon HD 4870 XXX 775MHZ 1GB
CASE - CM 923 HAF
PSU - Corsair TX 750
Hard drive - 4HDD
CPU Cooling - Xigmatek HDT-S1283

I did some google run on e8400 overclock guide and noticed a good number of owner pushed the 8400 to 4.4 before going into water. But most of them do not really tell how to. And also read the HWC P5Q Pro review by mac saying that it seems to be a good board to overclock.

I don't want to push it that far, My goal is to push it to 3.6 for now since this is a 24/7 rig. I've seen motherboard usually have software that helps you overclock but I am uncertain if they are safe to do so. I remember a cpu clocking speed revolves around FSB and multiplier? But what does voltage do?

Can anyone point me to the right direction? Am I asking for too much for this configuration? Is my current cooling good enough? I do have a H-50 that was originally going towards my sister's i5.... but didn't notice I need to order a mounting kit so now it's sitting in a corner.
Overclocking a e8400 is probably one of the easiest ones to overclock and can do pretty good if you got a good board to do it with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Overclocking is all about baby steps. Don't push things too far on your first attempt and you will be fine.
Precisely jump to far and you could definitely ruin something

Quote:
Originally Posted by belinik View Post
I went into the asus bios and set it to manual, then I put FSB to 400, everything else is auto. I see a good number of thread saying +voltage is not needed, but how would I know it's being overvolt right now?
Never leave your voltages set to AUTO ever. The biggest problem with this is that it could easily over volt your cpu during overclocking as well as your memory and could fry or damage something.

Set your voltage for your cpu to about 1.3 manual and your memory as 1.9 manual then when you start overclocking run P95 SmallFFT to check stability of your cpu and Blend for memory; each test give about 8 hours or so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
cant change the multiplier on a e8400

i have my voltage set to 1.4 and fsb at 445 for a 4ghz overclock.

been stable at that for a year now and my temps are at around 30c idle all the time.
never seen it go above 55c
Any Intel chip can have its multiplier changed, but it only goes down not up. You'd need a extreme chip for that.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 10:22 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
You don't need to, since the stock multiplier is already 9.

o, my bad then, i suppose i didn't think anyone would wanna go down.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 10:33 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
o, my bad then, i suppose i didn't think anyone would wanna go down.
that's an other mistake..... it's done often... pls review your basic OC


here a e6600 at x 9 max. oc 3005.6





here the same e6600 withthe cpu at 7X and the OC is 3493.1



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] blue ray movies ( will be updated with more from time to time) kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 2, 2009 04:20 AM
OVERCLOCKER DREAM PC blakmaze New Builds 29 August 30, 2009 03:49 PM
First time overclocker (E6400) Helmholtz Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 July 19, 2009 06:06 PM
The Overclocker, Issue #3 is out!! Bojamijams Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 December 29, 2008 12:34 AM
i7 not much of an overclocker? Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 9 October 14, 2008 06:01 AM