Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 12:34 AM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default Max Voltage for i7 920 D0?

Hey guys, I'm just wondering what the max "safe" voltage for this chip is. I have mine OC'd to 3.8 Ghz @ 1.175V.

I thought the max was like 1.25V but I see a lot of people on here with the Vcore at like 1.3V and up. Do these people just have a lot of money, or do they OC that far because they only plan on having that rig for a couple years before their next upgrade?

I know "safe" is very ambiguous, but should I be able to go to, say, 1.25V without drastically compromising the life of my CPU?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 12:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,501

My System Specs

Default

Most enthusiasts juice their chips because they know they'll upgrade within a year or two.

If you plan on keeping your chip for awhile, 1.25V should be plenty safe.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 06:16 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,524

My System Specs

Default

You can safely pump up to about 1.4v into an i7 without worry, assuming your temps arnt going too high. Temps will do far more damage then extra voltage will. Now does that mean its 'safe'? I guess that depends on what you define safe as. Considering some stock i7s come with a reference voltage of 1.25v+, I dont think you need to worry. My c0's default voltage is 1.28v. I'm running it at 1.38v daily. Temps never go over 65c. If you're running Prime95 stable at 1.175v you have a god of a chip and should be jacking that puppy to about 4.5ghz, else you are doing a disservice to us all and need to be punished!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 06:38 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
If you're running Prime95 stable at 1.175v you have a god of a chip and should be jacking that puppy to about 4.5ghz, else you are doing a disservice to us all and need to be punished!

Roger that, jack 'er up! My DO is at 1.28v @ 4 ghz, Primes at about 60C. wanna trade?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 06:39 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Filter Summary
take your pick D0 or C0 stepping
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 12:11 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Hahaha thanks for the info guys. Unfortunately, I have to increase to about 1.318V to get a stable 4 Ghz overclock. In addition, my temps skyrocket to 80 degrees, which is kind of weird. I'm on water cooling too. Maybe I got a bad (and non-enthusiast, I suspect) water block, the Swiftech GTZ. Also, I am using the quiet Swiftech MCR 320. I don't think those two things are for performance.. =[

Maybe I just need to loosen RAM timings or something? iono...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 12:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
You can safely pump up to about 1.4v into an i7 without worry, assuming your temps arnt going too high. Temps will do far more damage then extra voltage will. Now does that mean its 'safe'? I guess that depends on what you define safe as. Considering some stock i7s come with a reference voltage of 1.25v+, I dont think you need to worry. My c0's default voltage is 1.28v. I'm running it at 1.38v daily. Temps never go over 65c. If you're running Prime95 stable at 1.175v you have a god of a chip and should be jacking that puppy to about 4.5ghz, else you are doing a disservice to us all and need to be punished!
My chip is similar to his. 1.16v @ 3.6ghz, but 1.25v for 4.0ghz
Once I get a new cooler I'll aim a bit higher.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 12:35 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Looks like Intel's official range is

.80V-1.375V
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 12:51 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
Hahaha thanks for the info guys. Unfortunately, I have to increase to about 1.318V to get a stable 4 Ghz overclock. In addition, my temps skyrocket to 80 degrees, which is kind of weird. I'm on water cooling too. Maybe I got a bad (and non-enthusiast, I suspect) water block, the Swiftech GTZ. Also, I am using the quiet Swiftech MCR 320. I don't think those two things are for performance.. =[

Maybe I just need to loosen RAM timings or something? iono...
I run a gtz with a swiftech 320 rad and temps can climb fast for me too once i start to get over 1.35vcore it's normal
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 01:01 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
Looks like Intel's official range is

.80V-1.375V
Oh wow, I had no idea it was that high. Thanks for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
I run a gtz with a swiftech 320 rad and temps can climb fast for me too once i start to get over 1.35vcore it's normal
Oh alright, so it's not a badly seated block or anything... Would another rad help, or maybe just a better radiator/block combo? I just got a HAF 932 and was debating putting a dual rad on the side panel, or even going for a Magicool 480 rad (4x 120mm fans square rad).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max Load On Intel i7 920 ? JORD4N CPU's and Motherboards 18 January 26, 2010 07:30 AM
Voltage Questions - i7 920 ChuckleBrother Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 May 1, 2009 10:37 AM
920 OC Voltage questions SugarJ Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 5, 2009 08:45 AM
X48 Max Safe NB Voltage for 24/7 use? soapman72 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 13, 2008 10:21 AM
max dc voltage in north america? Fr0sty Power Supplies 6 August 12, 2007 08:46 PM