Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 01:14 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
Oh alright, so it's not a badly seated block or anything... Would another rad help, or maybe just a better radiator/block combo? I just got a HAF 932 and was debating putting a dual rad on the side panel, or even going for a Magicool 480 rad (4x 120mm fans square rad).
Its likely not a rad issue, a 320 should be plenty for your setup. I would guess its just the GTZ not sucking the heat out and dumping it into the water fast enough. Only way to fix this would be a new block, I think.

The GTZ is starting to show its true thermal ability with these 130w chips overclocked
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 01:20 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You can safely go up to 1.5V with an i5 or i7 CPU. As far as temperatures go, that's a different story. You'd need some hefty cooling to be able to cope with a heavily overclocked i7 CPU running with 1.5V.

Keep in mind that temperature-wise, you can go up to 100C (I recommend 90C at most though, so you leave yourself some headroom). It is normal for overclocked i7 CPUs to run in the 80s.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
Looks like Intel's official range is

.80V-1.375V
That's the VID range, not the safe voltage range. VID is the factory-set stock voltage, and the VID range simply means that every CPU coming out of Intel's factory has a stock voltage setting somewhere within that range (typical values for i7 CPUs are about 1.2V VID).
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 01:23 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

oh ya if you read through the intel pdf files it says 1.5 but for the most part you can't hurt anything at vid voltage range
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 01:42 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

This was a while back when I first got the chip and was running Vista: http://www.sfu.ca/~bkh2/4GHZ.jpg

I'm gonna take a gander through the Intel PDF to make myself feel better about cranking the voltage up.

BTW, any advice on the RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Its likely not a rad issue, a 320 should be plenty for your setup. I would guess its just the GTZ not sucking the heat out and dumping it into the water fast enough. Only way to fix this would be a new block, I think.

The GTZ is starting to show its true thermal ability with these 130w chips overclocked
I feel the air coming out of my rad and it's quite hot when I'm folding, so doesn't that mean that the CPU block is doing its job, whereas the rad is unable to keep up?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 01:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
I'm gonna take a gander through the Intel PDF to make myself feel better about cranking the voltage up.
http://download.intel.com/design/pro...hts/320834.pdf

Page 22, Table 2-6 for the voltage, and Chapter 6 on page 71 for temperature info.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 02:14 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
http://download.intel.com/design/pro...hts/320834.pdf

Page 22, Table 2-6 for the voltage, and Chapter 6 on page 71 for temperature info.
But with the 1.375v being max stock voltage, that's pretty much a guaranteed 100% safe voltage if Intel will set it on their chips from the factory.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 02:37 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for that link. It's exactly what I needed. Are you sure some shipped with a 1.375V stock? That seems very odd, but if it's true, I'd feel a lot better about pushing up my voltage to at least 1.25-1.3V.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 02:54 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
Thanks for that link. It's exactly what I needed. Are you sure some shipped with a 1.375V stock? That seems very odd, but if it's true, I'd feel a lot better about pushing up my voltage to at least 1.25-1.3V.
My guess is none shipped that high, no. But what it does mean is that due to the nature of manufacturing anything the engineers behind i7 have to design the chips within a tolerance of operation. That range caps out at 1.375. It just so happens the manufacturing process is better then expected so the tolerance max and never reached a VID of 1.375v on a retail processor.

Like any sort of advice, take it with a grain of salt. Its your chip and I'm not an Intel engineer. Do what you want, under your own risk.

That being said: From all the people on the net, and even these forums, Ive yet to hear of a chip dying due to being overclocked at even 1.4v. Assuming its being properly cooled. If you take the proper steps and stress test it properly you wont have any issues. Your screenshot shows a 2 min prime at 4ghz at 85c, to me this is NOT a sucessful 4ghz overclock. That chip would probably hit 100c after a bit of time, like oh, another 3 min . I know Id be crapping my pants if I clicked start on P95 and saw my temps jump to 85c

Anyways, the point is, we can tell you all we/you want that X volts is safe. But its up to you to do it under your own risk, because there is always some risk with ANY overclocking.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 03:09 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

great sumary sagath !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 03:11 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

I was busy playing borderlands so i didn't see this thread until i saw Sagath's rather dead on/accurate summation of the volts/overclocking/temperatures.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max Load On Intel i7 920 ? JORD4N CPU's and Motherboards 18 January 26, 2010 07:30 AM
Voltage Questions - i7 920 ChuckleBrother Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 May 1, 2009 10:37 AM
920 OC Voltage questions SugarJ Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 5, 2009 08:45 AM
X48 Max Safe NB Voltage for 24/7 use? soapman72 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 13, 2008 10:21 AM
max dc voltage in north america? Fr0sty Power Supplies 6 August 12, 2007 08:46 PM