Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 08:03 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
My X2 550 runs well at 3.8 with 1.5v. I never saw an issue with it, but I clocked it down to 3.5 and lowered the voltage since this CPU doesn't seem to want to display it's temp with any monitor I use.

From what I've read that's a known issue: The temp sensors turn off as side effect of the unlocking.

I beat the piss out of them at 1.525 volt and 3.8ghz running as a quad. Again, I don't know the actual temperature but it feels and acts fine enough... just for your reference.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 05:10 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default



oh dear lord.. matt lol I didn't see this thread before I bought that 550 and 790fx mobo off you xD it worries me a little...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 05:42 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

No worries! You'd be insane NOT to overclock these things. 1.5 volts running at 3.8ghz and as a quad is pretty standard for these things, it seems.

Edit: Whoa! Just realized OP got 3.9ghz at 1.44v

You're getting a pretty nice chip! I've never got better than 3.8 at 1.475
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 05:50 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Perineum, i think you need your eyes check ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlef View Post
Man, this chip needs some serious volts.... its not stable @ 3.7 with 1.49V....

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 06:27 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

heh, oh... hrmm... I just looked at the CPU-Z validator link. My eyes are actually better than 20/20 but I think it would help if I avoided alcohol, heheh. I managed to not have any hangover or anything but my body is definately not used to it...

Anyway, 1.525 in the BIOS gives you just over 1.510'ish volts in CPUz. That should give a 3.8 clock unlocked to quad.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 06:38 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
My eyes are actually better than 20/20
*envy* you play flight sims? you should be a pilot

no what really worried me was the nb at 1.3v lol, but it seems as if that was with the m4a785td-v evo that someone else bought reason for concern is that from pics that matt sent me, looked like he didn't have a spot cool on his NB
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 06:51 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

No, I don't play flight sims but I certainly would if I had time. The only reason my eyes are better than 20/20 is because of laser eye surgery.... I definitely wasn't born with it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
550 BE unlocked jay51 CPU's and Motherboards 6 December 8, 2009 10:12 AM
My $550 Build- Please check it out!!! jcmaz New Builds 4 October 7, 2009 07:21 PM
Phenom II 550 jcmaz CPU's and Motherboards 2 October 3, 2009 07:56 PM
AMD 550 unlocked to B50 X4 OC @ 3.7GHz 1.415v canmx120 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 October 2, 2009 08:50 PM