Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 07:57 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,589
Default

I think I'll do that than. I'll get it done this time, and tell him to just take it in to where he bought it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 10:08 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay51 View Post
yup...figured that out the hard way....ppl actually have threatened me before...go figure
Me too they played the role till they meet me. tattoo's and metal everywhere for some reason scares the hell outta people ha ha. no free tech support every for anyone it just causes said tech grief later
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 11:10 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Don't make any promises if you actually do go the OC-ing route - the 5200's are hit-and-miss for anything beyond 3.0GHz.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 12:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,943

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Don't make any promises if you actually do go the OC-ing route - the 5200's are hit-and-miss for anything beyond 3.0GHz.
Never mind the fact that it's running on some G31-chipset MSI board which I'm sure isn't very high quality along with the power supply.

Also 500MHz (best case scenario) isn't going to make anything feel faster IMO. At least for what he's complaining about. Only way to speed things up would be to get a SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 01:07 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
This is why you don't do free work from the get go, you charge them every time! Sometimes you can lower the price and waive some fees and charge them cheaper than usual, but charge every time.

Otherwise you will just become free tech support and blamed for every issue.
^ That.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 02:39 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

I say, continue to help him, but to a certain point. You've already done a clean-install. Either he gets the CPU cooler himself then you help him overclock, or you just leave everything as is.

As for the 70 processes...I have around 80 processes on my Windows 7 RC on my rig in sig. Dunno why there's so many, but from the day I installed Windows 7 RC, I already had like 40 processes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 02:50 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I say, continue to help him, but to a certain point. You've already done a clean-install. Either he gets the CPU cooler himself then you help him overclock, or you just leave everything as is.

As for the 70 processes...I have around 80 processes on my Windows 7 RC on my rig in sig. Dunno why there's so many, but from the day I installed Windows 7 RC, I already had like 40 processes.
Jeez. How the hell do you get 80 processes? I've got 52.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 03:09 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,589
Default

Thanks for your input guys. So I think I'm pretty much going to finish installing his drivers and security updates and return it to him. As is.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 03:59 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
Thanks for your input guys. So I think I'm pretty much going to finish installing his drivers and security updates and return it to him. As is.
Yep that's your best bet. I no longer do free work due to all the reasons other people have posted. It's nice to help a friend out with your computer skills and knowledge... it's worse to do all that hard work for free and then get caught on the hook if something goes awry.

Hell dude... i send my mom to futureshop now.

Oh and your welcome :)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 04:24 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Wow, 80? My server, which runs like 30million things only has 57 processes right now, and my desktop which has more software running than STD's on a $5 whore has only 52!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I won, I won, I'm rich!!! Gellidius Off Topic 26 November 10, 2009 04:30 AM
New MB won't post Caldezar Troubleshooting 11 June 19, 2009 12:58 PM
os won't install Zodgrod Troubleshooting 20 May 11, 2009 07:26 AM
so I won a contest? :S tgraszat14 Off Topic 11 July 22, 2008 07:29 AM
won't boot up Jhayman Troubleshooting 0 December 6, 2007 11:41 AM